Buttermilk Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
this is an excellent recipe that results in a flaky, flavorful crust that is tender, but firm enough to hold together well. i used this for my boston banana cream pie and it was a perfect complement to the flavor profile. i made only two modifications; i omitted the vegetable oil and i reduced the buttermilk to only 1/4 cup. this is my new standard pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Amazing! Never did I think I could bake a crust as flaky and delicious as one you would get in a restaurant. I used the crust for a pot pie recipe. I had some left over and made an apple dessert with the rest of the crust. It all turned out so delicious. You will never use another crust recipe after trying this one. Also, I did this all in my food processor. So EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moazhome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This made the best crust ever!! I tested a few different crust recipes for Thanksgiving & this one won hands down. It is my new crust for everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSiek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly as stated. I don't think this is the best pie crust but it's a good one. The oil makes it a little sticky to roll out. I will eliminate this next time. Also will cut back on the amount of buttermilk. If it's not holding together quite enough a little ice water is all you need. My husband will be the judge tonight. He usually only likes my recipe. We'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Loved this crust. Made it in my Kitchen Aid Mixer and it turned out fabulous. Easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Wonderful Recipe... changed only one thing, instead of using two pie crust I used one deep dish and it turned out GREAT... a Family keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA
Photo by marie14513
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I am learning how to make home made pie crust. I made it in the past and did not like how it came out. I came across this recipe. read the reviews and I will admit I was skeptical about using this recipe, having no experience. I put the veg. shortening in the refrigerator to get it cold. I started to use the food processor to mix the ingredients. I would not recommend doing this. It became puree on the bottom of the mixer. I placed the mixture in a bowl then put it the buttermilk and oil mixing it with a fork as explained in the recipe. It was easy to put together. I placed mine in the refrigerator, wrapped in saran wrap over night. It rolled out perfectly! I pre baked my bottom shell. I made a Blackberry pie. Awesome out come. I based my top crust with the buttermilk instead of egg.. It was light and flaky and got big smiles on the faces of the people I shared it with.. I would recommend everyone try this recipe. I give it 5 stars. Thank you for sharing.. And thank you all who sent in your reviews.. It helped me make an informed choice, on a pie crust. I am no longer intimidated by making my own. No More store bought crust for me.. I missed out on this for all these years.. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marie14513

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I have never made my own pie crust and decided to make it for my chicken pot pie. The recipe itself was easy. I used 1/2 cup of butter and no shortening because I didnt have it. My crust turned out so good. It tasted like a homestyle diner. I did like it for the pot pie but I feel like this crust would make a phenominal dessert pie, especially peach or apple! If you are looking for a pie recipe, look no further, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
My now favorite pie crust recipe! Very easy and oh so flakey. I made an elderberry pie.Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETSY
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Not surpising considering the ingredients, the flavor of this crust was very reminiscent of biscuits to me. It was very tender, but I should have held back a bit of the buttermilk...the dough was a bit soft and definitely didn't need the whole amount. I used the food processor, and it came together in a snap. The flavor and texture are very good, and it's a keeper recipe for me. It was a great choice for my turkey pot pie. Next time I'll reverse the butter and shortening amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Graham Cracker Crust I

This basic graham cracker crust that works well for baked and unbaked pies.

All about Buttermilk

Discover the secrets to buttermilk’s success in baking, marinating, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States