Buttermilk Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Good crust, nice flaky texture when cooked, worked well with my chicken pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
The Perfect Crust that I've been searching for! Thanks for posting it HoneyBeez!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Frey Irby

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Louisville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Not surpising considering the ingredients, the flavor of this crust was very reminiscent of biscuits to me. It was very tender, but I should have held back a bit of the buttermilk...the dough was a bit soft and definitely didn't need the whole amount. I used the food processor, and it came together in a snap. The flavor and texture are very good, and it's a keeper recipe for me. It was a great choice for my turkey pot pie. Next time I'll reverse the butter and shortening amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I have used this recipe about a thousand times and it is hands down the best pie crust. Reasons for this is it so forgiving. I read some of the other reviews saying it was to wet or sticky. I just add a little more flour and im good. And if it starts to dry out a little a put a little more buttermilk...no big. When you roll it out it is easy if you make a little mistake and don't want to start over it easy to just blend the dough back together because it is so moist. I love this recipe and it makes my pies perfect every time. I highly recommend especially for a beginner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Fabulous crust recipe! Tender, flakey and very easy to handle. I have been searching for this for two years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Don

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I have never made my own pie crust and decided to make it for my chicken pot pie. The recipe itself was easy. I used 1/2 cup of butter and no shortening because I didnt have it. My crust turned out so good. It tasted like a homestyle diner. I did like it for the pot pie but I feel like this crust would make a phenominal dessert pie, especially peach or apple! If you are looking for a pie recipe, look no further, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by marie14513
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I am learning how to make home made pie crust. I made it in the past and did not like how it came out. I came across this recipe. read the reviews and I will admit I was skeptical about using this recipe, having no experience. I put the veg. shortening in the refrigerator to get it cold. I started to use the food processor to mix the ingredients. I would not recommend doing this. It became puree on the bottom of the mixer. I placed the mixture in a bowl then put it the buttermilk and oil mixing it with a fork as explained in the recipe. It was easy to put together. I placed mine in the refrigerator, wrapped in saran wrap over night. It rolled out perfectly! I pre baked my bottom shell. I made a Blackberry pie. Awesome out come. I based my top crust with the buttermilk instead of egg.. It was light and flaky and got big smiles on the faces of the people I shared it with.. I would recommend everyone try this recipe. I give it 5 stars. Thank you for sharing.. And thank you all who sent in your reviews.. It helped me make an informed choice, on a pie crust. I am no longer intimidated by making my own. No More store bought crust for me.. I missed out on this for all these years.. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marie14513

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Wonderful Recipe... changed only one thing, instead of using two pie crust I used one deep dish and it turned out GREAT... a Family keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I made this pie crust for a peach pie using all butter, in the food processor and it came out beautiful. This is my new favorite pie crust recipe. I omitted the vegetable oil, as many other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This pie crust was super easy and very forgiving. It stuck a little to the parchment, but I will chill it longer next time to take care of that. Not to mention it is ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Graham Cracker Crust I

This basic graham cracker crust that works well for baked and unbaked pies.

All about Buttermilk

Discover the secrets to buttermilk’s success in baking, marinating, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States