Buttermilk Parmesan Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I made these potatoes for Father's Day for a party of 14 and everyone loved them!!!! The only difference is that I doubled the sauce ingredients and used a whole yellow onion instead of the red onion. I used about 10-11 idaho potatoes and thinly sliced them, layered the potatoes and the sauce. Delicious!!! I would make these again.... thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
The was absolutely fabulous! The potatoes had a great tanginess. I used red skinned new potatoes and sliced them and used lots more garlic than called for. This is a wonderful departure from regular potatoes. I did not find the recipe to be a lot of trouble as referred to by a previous reviewer. Certainly, any extra "trouble" this may be to prepare is very well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Fabulous dish!!!!! I was a bit concerned when making this because the flour/butter roux mixture was VERY thick and then when I added the shredded cheese to it, it got even thicker. Not to worry, because once it baked in the oven it turned out fabulous!!!!!! It was creamy and luscious and the potato cheese flavors were just right! My family loved it!!! I made only one small change to this recipe. I used diced hash browns (thawed) instead of going through the extra time and work of cooking potatoes. I will be making this dish often!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
They turned out really well...I threw in some sage and rosemary as well as used a whole lot more onion than called for-- love onion. I tented the caserole because I was afraid it would dry out, there wasn't alot of liquid. Don't do this...it took forever to cook and I didn't have big chunks of potato either. After the hour of cooking I removed the tent and let it cook for a good half hour more and there were still some harder chuncks. I will definitly make it again though, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Soooo good-buttermilk makes the difference! Occasionally I add a little Havarti cheese with dill and/or caraway cheese. Leftovers I turn into chunky potato soup. I make this often, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
More cheese. A little more milk and buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Very nice and tasty. Just added way more parmesan than was called for. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This recipe was what I was looking for. I do not like creamed soup recipes, this was perfect and simple, I admit I 'changed' it a bit -but only used thinly sliced potatoes, and layered..Delicious! Not too cheesy but with a creamy texture - everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
GREAT recipe! I found this recipe while trying to use up some buttermilk. I did not peel my potatoes as I used small new potatoes. I just sliced and added to the pan. The mixture of the buttermilk and Parmesan cheese is a nice combination. Most certainly will be making them again. I served this with 'Tangy Pork Tenderloin' from this site. Thanks BELFLOREK for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Love, love, love them! I ended up using only 10 small potatoes & 1 1/3c of shredded parm because that's what I had on hand & needed to use up. I kept all other measurements as written. Just fabulous-love the subtle flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States