Buttermilk Parmesan Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
These were ok.... They did not WOW me but were good. Not a whole lot more flavor than the canned soup recipes, and for the time and cost involved in fresh Parm and buttermilk I'd stick with a 79 cent can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Soooo good-buttermilk makes the difference! Occasionally I add a little Havarti cheese with dill and/or caraway cheese. Leftovers I turn into chunky potato soup. I make this often, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Fabulous dish!!!!! I was a bit concerned when making this because the flour/butter roux mixture was VERY thick and then when I added the shredded cheese to it, it got even thicker. Not to worry, because once it baked in the oven it turned out fabulous!!!!!! It was creamy and luscious and the potato cheese flavors were just right! My family loved it!!! I made only one small change to this recipe. I used diced hash browns (thawed) instead of going through the extra time and work of cooking potatoes. I will be making this dish often!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Photo by KM
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I loved these!! I did have to add a little more milk to the flour mixture. I also added a tiny bit more salt.... But I will definitely be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Awesome!! I sliced the potatoes, used vidalia onion, and chedder cheese instead of pamesan (a bit more than called for, but you can never have too much cheese!), and they still came out great!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
The sauce recipe was particularly good. I used 3/4 cup buttermilk and 1.5 cup 2%milk. Only 1/2 cup Parmesan. I also added shrimp and frozen, chopped spinach. We ate it as an alfredo sauce on spaghetti squash instead of baked with potatoes. Delicious! Be careful of the salt though, the cheese adds its own saltiness so you don't want to overdo it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This is a fine recipe, although a bit dry. I cut the recipe in 1/2 but did still use a full cup of buttermilk. It didn't make that big of a difference. I ran out of parmesan, so I topped it with cheddar and bacon bits the last 20 minutes. That actually made it more flavorful, but as written it was pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
With a few modifications based on other reviews, this was a nice change from standard au gratin potatoes. I increased garlic to 4 cloves, used 1 small onion sliced into rings, increased the buttermilk to 1-1/2 cups and added 1 Tbsp. dried Rosemary, crushed. I also topped with Italian style bread crumbs and drizzled a little olive oil over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHAFFERSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States