Buttermilk Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
These have become my default pancakes. I made them again this morning. Use the old baker's tricks of letting your buttermilk, milk and eggs sit out for an hour before baking to get to room tempurature and you'll get increased fluff on these. And don't overmix. Be sure to leave small lumps of flour that break open when pouring out the mix on the griddle. I used blueberries today and they turned out great - coat any fruit you want to add in a bit of the flour mixture first and you'll find they don't all drop to the bottom. Great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
It took a little tweaking and A LOT of time, but these did come out wonderful in the end. Like other reviewers, this made WAY more than the listed 12 five inch pancakes!! I could easily have fed my 5 family members with just 1/3 of the batter. The first batch I made (exactly as the recipe is written) weren't stellar. I found them to be heavy and strikingly like French Toast. (They DID make pretty good waffles as I had a TON of batter leftover.) On my next batch (scaled down to 1/3) I added one extra teaspoon of sugar and one teaspoon of lemon juice. My trick for getting these nice and fluffy was to let the batter sit for a day or two in the refrigerator. The oxidation of the lemon juice and baking soda really caused the batter to swell with all those wonderful air bubbles that make a nice, tender and fluffy pancake. Making this on Sunday night and using it during the week has made this recipe a staple in my home. My family can't get enough of them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
752 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMBALINA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Yum! I was out of buttermilk so I put about 1 tsp of vinegar (or you can use lemon juice) in the one cup measuring cup and then filled with milk. By the time I was ready to mix the two together, I had "buttermilk". I scaled the recipe for "4" rather than "12" because I was alone but I barely ate half of them. I didn't even use a fork, I just poured the syrup on a plate and dipped! Piggy, don't you think? :) I am saving the rest for tomorrow and will just toast them in the toaster-oven. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
521 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
These were delicious! They were so light and fluffy. The first time I made these I stirred the batter too much and they came out flat and slightly tough but the second time I barely mixed it and they turned out very tender and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifty, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Allensville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
These were pretty good. Thank heaven for another reviewer's suggestion for using whole milk, because I only had 2 cups of buttermilk! I would, however, make one tiny suggestion: When adding all the wet ingredients together, make sure the butter has cooled somewhat, so as not to "cook" the eggs in the batter. You'll wind up with super lumpy pancake batter! You could also add the butter to the milk first, mix, then add the eggs, but DO NOT ADD THE BUTTER RIGHT OFF THE STOVE if you've already added the eggs! I also added some vanilla for extra flavor. Light, fluffy, and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
I wish I could give this ten stars!! This is the best pancake recipe ever! I made the whole recipe, and froze the left overs, putting a square of waxed paper between each pancake. Then, just put them on a plate, zap in the microwave for 1 minute (for two pancakes), and you have a hot breakfast in no time! I'll never use a box mix again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bea Gassman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood, New York, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
My family just loves these pancakes! I always put alittle more milk in to thin the batter some. The only down side to these wonderful pancakes-- I can never seem to cook them fast enough for my boys! You can successfully freeze unused buttermilk in the freezer. (milk too) Which is great, that way I always have buttermilk on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU so much for this recipe!!!My husband loves big breakfasts and I got so tired of cooking boring pancake mixes that tasted so bland. This recipe has made me a pancake lover!! I have cooked these several times, once with milk soured with vinegar (turned out good) and then all the other times with the fresh buttermilk (turned out HEAVENLY). I would not make these again without the fresh buttermilk! I made them for some friends one morning too and both demanded the recipe before they left the house! They just melt in your mouth! Hubby loves them too! The only thing I added was vanilla and some cinnamon - but that's just some flavoring that I like in my pancakes. These are FANTASTIC! Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Slaughter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
These pancakes are so fluffy and absolutely delicious! This recipe makes a lot, so I put leftovers in the freezer then heat then up later in the microwave and they taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Made this for hubby and 1 yr. old son yesterday for breakfast. Both of them ate this up quickly. I think my son liked it a little bit more because he wasn't so happy when it was all gone. Followed this recipe to a "T". Can't go wrong. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,062) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States