Buttermilk Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as written (well, okay, I was a tiny bit short on milk, so I added a splash of water). These were outstanding! Everyone in the family thought they were great, even Her Royal Highness, the 10 yo who doesn't like anything. It supercedes our previous favorite. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Navillusb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Add 1/4c of Ricotta cheese to the wet mix... PERFECTION! Key factors to making these: 1) Make sure the griddle is HOT. drops of water should dance before they sizzle. It's probably hotter than you think. They only take a minute or so on a side. 2) Do NOT over-mix. Don't go all OCD and try to make it smooth. Whisk by hand until the lumps are about even. TIP - mix your eggs separately-This makes it smoother when you whip the complete (eggs included) wet mix and you won't stress the lumps. Yes, the Ricotta adds lumps, but don't sweat it - under heat, it all smoothes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kr4k3n

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This was the pancake recipe I lost and was so happy to find it again. The only thing I do is use Kefir instead of buttermilk but these are the fluffiest pancakes you will ever make...assuming you DO NOT over mix them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
this is the best recipe for making homemade pancakes I did this with whole wheat flour and a little white self rising flour.. My boyfriend loved these.. the only thing I didn't do was let the mixture sit for 30min- hour before cooking... but its best to make the mixture cover an let it sit overnight for the next day to make very fluffy and tasty pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muscle Jock Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blenheim, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Perfect! This is now our standard breakfast on long weekends! I will try it in the waffle maker to see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I used half wheat flour. Used mostly brown sugar. Had to use vinegar to sour my milk since I didn't have buttermilk. It makes a large batch and I doubled it and got about 35 pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
We've tried 17 different pancake recipes from allrecipes, this one takes the prize hands down. Nonstick pan, no oil, electric stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This is now a Saturday morning staple in my house. However, I'm not serving 12 adults...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
These are outstanding. Goodbye to all box mixes...horray for that. My husband doesn'thand out ffree compliments hardly ever. But in Gus words. "These are really good", then asked if there were anymore. And leftovers are great too. I'm making this a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellTell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is the only recipe for pancakes that I use. They are easy to make and the have superb taste. Anyone who gives less than 4 stars on these either doesn't know how to cook, or doesn't know what truly delicious pancakes taste like. Let your buttermilk and milk sit out for an hour to get to room temperature. This ensures FLUFFY cakes. Follow the simple steps, and enjoy. I use a quick shot of oil instead of melted margarine, but sometimes leave it out since I oil up the cast iron skillet really well. Cast iron will give you excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,062) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States