Buttermilk Pancakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Light, fluffy, everything a pancake should be - I cut the sugar down to 2 Tbsp., added 1 tsp. of vanilla, and used 2 Tbsp. of melted butter vs. 1/4 c. of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2003
These were really, really good! Very light and fluffy and definitely restaurant quality. I was able to made 12 medium size pancakes by upping the flour and buttermilk to 1/2 a cup, but left everything else the same. I also added a splash of vanilla extract to the batter and used brown sugar. These really didn't need syrup. We rolled them up with sausage links and hubby (who's not a breakfast person) had 2 helpings. I'm so glad I gave these a try. Highly recommended! Thanks bunches Amber :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
My family loved, loved, loved, this recipe! We just finished eating a batch of these yummy pancakes! They are so light and fluffy! I didn't have any buttermilk, so I added 2 tbs. of vinegar to regular milk. It helped give it that delicious buttermilk flavor. I also added an extra 1/4 cup of flour. That seemed to give it a better consistency. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Be sure to double this recipe. I have three teenage children and could put both batches away in a heart beat. I served with fresh blueberry sauce but my son used real Canadian Maple Syrup. Either way I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
These pancakes are good but the recipe calls for to much sugar. Next time I will halve the sugar. I used a 50 percent all purpose flour to 50 percent buckwheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Resizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Addison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
Excellent! I used a mixer b/c I don't have a blender and they were still light and fluffy. Be careful when cooking, they burn easily. Cook on medium heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I made these for breakfast this morning and we really enjoyed the sweet, light texture. My only change would be to add a pinch of salt. I'll be saving this one in my recipe box and definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
I LOVE this recipe!!! Even my little picky eaters did! My kids even wanted thirds (which is UNHEARD of!). Thanks for the recipe! This will be my normal pancake recipe. I did try and like the Buttermilk pancakes II, but these are so easy! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
Perfect! Very light, fluffy, and flavorful. These melt in your mouth and taste so good with peaches, butter, and cool whip. This recipe was just what I was searching for. I have tried other highly rated recipes on the site, but they just don't compare to this one. Yummy! My child even compared them to the fabulous resturaunt (not a chain) pancakes I was looking to emulate, and said she liked them as much! Well, kids are perfectly honest! This is going to be a staple in my house. I did make a few changes to make them less fattening, though: I used reduced fat buttermilk, baking splenda for sugar, and light butter instead of oil, and they were still fabulous! I also had to subsitute 1/4 cup of milk for buttermilk since I ran out. I bet they'd be even better with the regular stuff. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcguire Afb, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Definitely a keeper! So fluffy! I added vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States