Buttermilk Pancakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
The only complaint I have is the estimated serving size! It says "serves 4-5". The entire batch was easily consumed by a 6-year old, 2-year old, and me. Guess that's actually a pretty high compliment...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
No salt, too much sugar, and the blender creates too much gluten which toughens the batter and makes it rubbery. Too much baking soda as well; the baking soda should just be enough to adjust for the lower pH of buttermilk, and the batter should rise with the application of heat, not beforehand. Halve the sugar, halve the baking soda, add 1/4 tsp salt, mix by hand, and now you have a real pancake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Great pancakes. We subbed honey for sugar and cut back on the buttermilk a tiny bit to compensate for the liquid, also subbing 3T melted butter for the oil, used a blender to mix as suggested. Batter very thick and creamy. Also added a few blueberries to each 'cake once poured in the pan. Very light and fluffy, and delicious with maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
WONDERFUL! Doubled the recipe. There was too much for the blender, so I used my immersion (stick) blender. This was perfect for us. With some to freeze to have for breakfast during the week. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
We tried this recipe the other day amd thought it was both yummmy and easy.We used a food processer instead of a blender, because ours was to small. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made these pancakes for breakfast this morning - after discovering I only had 1 egg and the exact amount of buttermilk needed in this recipe. (Perhaps fate was involved!) I was a bit skeptical about mixing all the ingredients in the blender, as most recipes indicate that one should mix until slightly lumpy. (Over-mixing typically results in a tough pancake.) However, this recipe, followed precisely as written, produced the BEST, LIGHTEST, and MOST-DELICIOUS pancakes I have ever made! Slightly sweet, fluffy and delicate...these pancakes were EXACTLY what I've always been searching for in a pancake recipe. I'm a Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher - think Home Economics meets 21st Century. I've made many, many, many pancakes through the years and been in charge of thousands of students as they've done the same. This recipe is now at the top of my list!!! Thank you for sharing this...it will be THE pancake recipe in my home from now on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Easy recipe, followed it exactly, added blueberries. Light and fluffy. Made on griddle, low heat, no burning. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Verrry good!! Light and fully.The only prb I had is that they were kinda hard to fry since they were kinda runny all over the skillet.But,verry good!!:)Oh yea,I also addedd like 2 tsp of vanilla and next time will prb add more flour.I dint use a blender,I just whisked it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I added an extra half cup of flour to make them easier to flip, but they taste delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States