Buttermilk Oatmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Made these exactly per the recipe. Texture was a bit off for me. Maybe better if the oats had been blasted in the blender or food processor first? Might try a second attempt with that method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
My whole family liked this. I had to make add more flour and cornmeal because the batter was too runny (I added an additional 1/2 cup of each, keeping the ratios consistent). I also used brown sugar instead of white, added 1 tablespoon of honey, and 1 tablespoon of cinnamon because it sounded yummy. I also tried it with mixed in blueberries, blackberries, and raspberries. Not everyone liked the berries. This was hearty so you will eat less of these than normal pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angeline Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I have been searching for an oatmeal pancake recipe that I my family really liked. Have tried others and the texture was too doughy - but these were great! I did whirl my oats in the blender first and soaked them and the cornmeal in the milk. I added about 1/4 cup more flour so batter would not be so thin. Sprinkled the tops with blueberries and these were so good. I think my search for a great oatmeal pancake has ended. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This will serve 4 if you are feeding teenage boys or farm/ranch hands. For ordinary adults, this will serve 6-8 and these are true "stick-to-your-ribs" style hearty pancakes. My husband balked at the recipe originally, but one bite turned him into a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I have been making this recipe for a few weeks and love it. I use whole wheat flour instead of all purpose, and I add vanilla extract and cinnamon. Instead of making pancakes, I make Belgium Waffles. They are really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Made them exactly according to the recipe and found they have more flavor and better texture than most pancakes I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Adult approved, but the kids weren't sure. They ate them all, but complained that there were different. Well, of course they are! I like that I can feel better about feeding something more healthy to them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This is excellent! Just as good, maybe better, than my favorites at the famous pancake parlor in Sugar Hill, New Hampshire. I cut the recipe in half, as I only needed 2 servings, which was more than adequate. Half the recipe makes 6-8 four inch pancakes (I used 1/3 cup measure for each). I also mixed the cornmeal in with the oats and buttermilk to soften for 5 minutes. Delicious whole grain flavor yet still light with a pleasing texture. Cooked up beautifully with nice golden color. A mainstay for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vintage American Male

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acushnet, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Great multi-grain pancakes. Good flavor and texture. Maybe not the best recipe for you if you like fat, fluffy, doughy pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine Gizak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This is a very good recipe. Made a few alterations as I prepared. But then I always do that. A bit more flour, a little less milk, extra egg makes for thicker fluffier pancakes. Make sure not to over mix and let mix sit a bit before grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rabit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Greenwich, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States