Buttermilk Oatmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This will serve 4 if you are feeding teenage boys or farm/ranch hands. For ordinary adults, this will serve 6-8 and these are true "stick-to-your-ribs" style hearty pancakes. My husband balked at the recipe originally, but one bite turned him into a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I have been making this recipe for a few weeks and love it. I use whole wheat flour instead of all purpose, and I add vanilla extract and cinnamon. Instead of making pancakes, I make Belgium Waffles. They are really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Made them exactly according to the recipe and found they have more flavor and better texture than most pancakes I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Adult approved, but the kids weren't sure. They ate them all, but complained that there were different. Well, of course they are! I like that I can feel better about feeding something more healthy to them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This is excellent! Just as good, maybe better, than my favorites at the famous pancake parlor in Sugar Hill, New Hampshire. I cut the recipe in half, as I only needed 2 servings, which was more than adequate. Half the recipe makes 6-8 four inch pancakes (I used 1/3 cup measure for each). I also mixed the cornmeal in with the oats and buttermilk to soften for 5 minutes. Delicious whole grain flavor yet still light with a pleasing texture. Cooked up beautifully with nice golden color. A mainstay for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaskedMan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acushnet, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Great multi-grain pancakes. Good flavor and texture. Maybe not the best recipe for you if you like fat, fluffy, doughy pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine Gizak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This is a very good recipe. Made a few alterations as I prepared. But then I always do that. A bit more flour, a little less milk, extra egg makes for thicker fluffier pancakes. Make sure not to over mix and let mix sit a bit before grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rabit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Greenwich, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly, the pancakes turned out great! My kids loved them! They were the perfect texture, not runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Delicious!! I made this GF by using Bob's Red Mill All Purpose Flour instead of the wheat all purposes flour. I never have buttermilk so I used 2 Tablespoon lemon juice and filled a two-cup measure with almond milk. I made the mistake of using a course corn meal so will adjust next time and use a finer grain. I don't think any of these substitutes changed the original recipe just made it gluten and dairy-free friendly. I didn't not find the batter runny at all. It is important to let the oatmeal and buttermilk set for the 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Awesome Pancakes!! I increased the sugar to 1 Tbsp... everything was exact. These are sooo good! We had them for dinner and I don't feel one bit guilty;) Texture and flavor are perfect. They do have to cook just a bit longer than the standard batter. This will be a go to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeaholic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States