Buttermilk Oatmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Added a mashed banana to the batter and topped with sliced strawberrys! Phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I substituted coconut oil for the vegetable oil but otherwise followed directions and these turned out terrific! Very hearty breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Made the recipe exactly as directed. Best pancakes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Initially surprised by how thin the batter was, but just made big pancakes and let it spread out. Increased sugar slightly and added chopped walnuts. Plan to add mashed banana next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Love these pancakes! This was my first attempt at oatmeal or buttermilk pancakes and I loved the flavor and texture. The third time I tried this recipe I had run out of rolled oats and used steel-cut oats instead. This didn't turn out well because of the longer cooking time that steel cut oats require. I even tried softening the buttermilk/oat mixture in the microwave for 7 minutes at 50% power but the oats were still chewy. I will still love them though. I freeze the extra pancakes and they make a great, quick breakfast in the toaster oven every morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Made these exactly per the recipe. Texture was a bit off for me. Maybe better if the oats had been blasted in the blender or food processor first? Might try a second attempt with that method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
My whole family liked this. I had to make add more flour and cornmeal because the batter was too runny (I added an additional 1/2 cup of each, keeping the ratios consistent). I also used brown sugar instead of white, added 1 tablespoon of honey, and 1 tablespoon of cinnamon because it sounded yummy. I also tried it with mixed in blueberries, blackberries, and raspberries. Not everyone liked the berries. This was hearty so you will eat less of these than normal pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angeline Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I have been searching for an oatmeal pancake recipe that I my family really liked. Have tried others and the texture was too doughy - but these were great! I did whirl my oats in the blender first and soaked them and the cornmeal in the milk. I added about 1/4 cup more flour so batter would not be so thin. Sprinkled the tops with blueberries and these were so good. I think my search for a great oatmeal pancake has ended. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This will serve 4 if you are feeding teenage boys or farm/ranch hands. For ordinary adults, this will serve 6-8 and these are true "stick-to-your-ribs" style hearty pancakes. My husband balked at the recipe originally, but one bite turned him into a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I have been making this recipe for a few weeks and love it. I use whole wheat flour instead of all purpose, and I add vanilla extract and cinnamon. Instead of making pancakes, I make Belgium Waffles. They are really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States