Buttermilk Oatmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Excellent! Used cornmeal muffin mix instead of cornmeal and it was not runny at all. Less gritty too Double the recipe and keep extras in the freezer for quick breakfasts (if there are any leftover!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I have made these many times, and they are great as is. Sometimes I add vanilla for a special occasion. These pancakes are thin, but that is how we like ours. The flavor and texture is delicious. When I tried putting blueberries in the batter it was too thin to work very well, so we put our fruit on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greeneyedmamma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
We substituted grits for the cornmeal. Must have with berries! A very nice pancake. We had em with Strawberries. Delicious! Nice to make batter the night before and refrigerate until morning. Yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This is an amazing recipe i noticed it was a bit runny so i added 3 scoops of vanilla protein powder was the best pancake i ever ate. great for starting the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheKitchenBarbarian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lumby, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Just tried this recipe and thought it was great. Loved the texture added by the oat and corn meal. The pancakes were slightly thinner than many recipes, but I prefer pancakes that way anyway. You can adjust the milk down a little if you prefer thicker pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
We mad this recipe this morning and loved them. I added a little extra flour and 1/2 the amount of cornmeal...Perfect! I also put in fresh raspberries and blueberries, they were delicious! They were NOT too runny, I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This will be my default recipe! Three of my grandchildren and I made this recipe this morning and we loved everything about them. They're healthier with the oatmeal and cornmeal and they have more flavor. My grandkids tell me to tell you that even the first batch was beautiful! Jack, who is 10 and who cooks a lot, says maybe they'd be even tastier with a teaspoon of cinnamon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Very easy for the kids to help measure and mix the ingredients. We topped it with mango jam. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Best pancake recipe ever. Loved the taste and texture (no doughy cakes for me); it's what I've been looking for for years. No issues at all with runny batter since I used quick oats instead of old fashioned; they more readily absorbed the buttermilk. They were also great the next day,didn't get soggy and held up very well. This is my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe for a hearty stick to your ribs kind of breakfast. After reading reviews about it being runny, I used rounded measurements of the oats (I used a multi-grain hot cereal) and used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose and it wasn't runny at all. I used a 1/4 measuring cup to scoop out the batter and 2 small pancakes was enough to satisfy me. To top it off, I made a blueberry and banana sauce for the win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States