Buttermilk Oatmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Excellent, great texture. I followed the recipe exactly and my wife and I were very happy with the results. We served them with bananas and toasted pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norbie-Noo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This is a wonderful option for those looking for a healthier morning pancake. The flavor and texture is good, but next time I will send them over the top by adding blueberries. These pancakes would be perfect with the addition of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Best pancake recipe ever. Loved the taste and texture (no doughy cakes for me); it's what I've been looking for for years. No issues at all with runny batter since I used quick oats instead of old fashioned; they more readily absorbed the buttermilk. They were also great the next day,didn't get soggy and held up very well. This is my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Delicious!! I made this GF by using Bob's Red Mill All Purpose Flour instead of the wheat all purposes flour. I never have buttermilk so I used 2 Tablespoon lemon juice and filled a two-cup measure with almond milk. I made the mistake of using a course corn meal so will adjust next time and use a finer grain. I don't think any of these substitutes changed the original recipe just made it gluten and dairy-free friendly. I didn't not find the batter runny at all. It is important to let the oatmeal and buttermilk set for the 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Awesome Pancakes!! I increased the sugar to 1 Tbsp... everything was exact. These are sooo good! We had them for dinner and I don't feel one bit guilty;) Texture and flavor are perfect. They do have to cook just a bit longer than the standard batter. This will be a go to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeaholic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Excellent! Used cornmeal muffin mix instead of cornmeal and it was not runny at all. Less gritty too Double the recipe and keep extras in the freezer for quick breakfasts (if there are any leftover!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
very good! I made just as written with the addition of chopped pecans; they were very tasty, with a nice texture. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This will be my default recipe! Three of my grandchildren and I made this recipe this morning and we loved everything about them. They're healthier with the oatmeal and cornmeal and they have more flavor. My grandkids tell me to tell you that even the first batch was beautiful! Jack, who is 10 and who cooks a lot, says maybe they'd be even tastier with a teaspoon of cinnamon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I have made these many times, and they are great as is. Sometimes I add vanilla for a special occasion. These pancakes are thin, but that is how we like ours. The flavor and texture is delicious. When I tried putting blueberries in the batter it was too thin to work very well, so we put our fruit on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greeneyedmamma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This is an amazing recipe i noticed it was a bit runny so i added 3 scoops of vanilla protein powder was the best pancake i ever ate. great for starting the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheKitchenBarbarian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lumby, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States