Buttermilk Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Home run! These are as good as the reviews said. I always read reviews and take the most popular advice. Added vanilla, pecans, dried cranberries and mini chocolate chips and sprinkled some sugar on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This recipe is almost identical to one that was on this site a few years ago. The only difference is that that one called for vegetable oil instead of melted butter. I have never tried these muffins with the melted butter, but as I make them (with the oil), they are very good. They bake up nice and high with a perfectly rounded top, which is crisp while the interior is moist. They are just sweet enough, and adaptable if one would prefer any spices such as cinnamon and nutmeg (as I used). In mine I also added a little vanilla. My youngest daughter rarely likes muffins, but she thought these were good-making them a winner for me:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I halved this recipe but used the full 1/2 cup of butter; it was perfect. I didn't need to spread the cut muffin with more butter and they were wonderfully moist. I've made them without additions and they are wonderful. In one batch I added 1/4 cup of finely chopped pecans, 1/3 cup of chopped dates and 1/3 cup of raisins that had been soaked in hot water for 10 minutes; those were really great. This is the perfect breakfast muffin recipe as it's not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by punkim30
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Muffins turned out beautifully. In future I will as more cinnamon and also add some ginger and nutmeg. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
These are great for breakfast! After reading reviews, I made the following changes on the first (and now every batch): add ¼ c flax seed, add about 1 tsp vanilla, and a good amount of dried fruit (I used about 1 c of mixed berries). My husband loves taking them for breakfast on his way to work as does my picky 2-year old. I will probably make these instead of the mother-in-law's bran muffins for a hearty & healthy breakfast food / snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I've made these a few times now. They are so great because they are a so versatile! Very hearty. I usually chuck in some subset of nuts, fruit, or chocolate. They aren't too sweet, so once when I made them with only sliced almonds I added extra sugar. I've never made them with buttermilk, just normal milk and sometimes I add some yogurt for good measure, I just make sure that the oatmeal is moist after combining in the first step. Only complaint is that sometimes when I make them, they stick to the liners...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanna Groen
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
The texture was spot on! I'm sure this is what the author intended, a very basic muffin using oatmeal and buttermilk as base, but yet so versatile to the flavoring/toppings that you can add, I did orange almond cinnamon for my first try, and it was good! It was so easy to put together. I halved the recipe easily and it was done within 45 minutes (including 30 minutes oven preheating time)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Yummy! I have two suggestions to change it up a bit. Pulse your whole oats (even steel cut) in the blender/food processer to grind it. This will make the muffins lighter and less chewy, while keeping all the goodness of the oatmeal. Second, add chopped fruit, like strawberries, blueberries, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
yummy! not too sweet...great for my baby and three year old to eat for a snack. I added raisins, hemp hearts and flax.Great for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is so good! I took all the recipe, and changed only three things; 1.) only read the instruction after I put it in oven at 180deg so obviously I didnt follow all steps including temp. 2.) changed the buttermilk to yoghurt. 3.) used atta flour instead of the AP flour to make it fiber rich. I experimented with every batch by mixing Chocolote rice, Orange and Ginger, Bacond and Cheese, Strawberry Jam - they all turned out DELISH! my husband loved it and Im a happy girl. I will save this for my future generation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States