Buttermilk Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I really loved making this recipe. It was quick and easy to follow. I added blueberries as well, and they tasted delicious. I also added 2 tsp of water because the batter was a bit on the thick side. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Skeptical because I do like a sweeter muffin and found the oatmeal recipes I've tried in the past too bland, but needed to use leftover buttermilk. Took reviewers advice on additions and used 1 tsp Pumpkin Pie spice instead of cinnamon and also 1 tsp vanilla. Also added fresh blueberries and sprinkled cinnamon on the top before baking. The batter is thick didn't want to stir too much anyway, so folded in about 1 cup of berries very gently, then sprinkled a few in the bottom of each paper muffin cup before spooning in the batter. YUM! Very, very happy with the moist, sweet result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
These muffins are a breeze to make. They have just the right amount of sugar and a great chewy texture. They are the tiniest bit crumbly, but we make them several times a month they are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Home run! These are as good as the reviews said. I always read reviews and take the most popular advice. Added vanilla, pecans, dried cranberries and mini chocolate chips and sprinkled some sugar on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This recipe is almost identical to one that was on this site a few years ago. The only difference is that that one called for vegetable oil instead of melted butter. I have never tried these muffins with the melted butter, but as I make them (with the oil), they are very good. They bake up nice and high with a perfectly rounded top, which is crisp while the interior is moist. They are just sweet enough, and adaptable if one would prefer any spices such as cinnamon and nutmeg (as I used). In mine I also added a little vanilla. My youngest daughter rarely likes muffins, but she thought these were good-making them a winner for me:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I halved this recipe but used the full 1/2 cup of butter; it was perfect. I didn't need to spread the cut muffin with more butter and they were wonderfully moist. I've made them without additions and they are wonderful. In one batch I added 1/4 cup of finely chopped pecans, 1/3 cup of chopped dates and 1/3 cup of raisins that had been soaked in hot water for 10 minutes; those were really great. This is the perfect breakfast muffin recipe as it's not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by punkim30
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Muffins turned out beautifully. In future I will as more cinnamon and also add some ginger and nutmeg. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
These are great for breakfast! After reading reviews, I made the following changes on the first (and now every batch): add ¼ c flax seed, add about 1 tsp vanilla, and a good amount of dried fruit (I used about 1 c of mixed berries). My husband loves taking them for breakfast on his way to work as does my picky 2-year old. I will probably make these instead of the mother-in-law's bran muffins for a hearty & healthy breakfast food / snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I've made these a few times now. They are so great because they are a so versatile! Very hearty. I usually chuck in some subset of nuts, fruit, or chocolate. They aren't too sweet, so once when I made them with only sliced almonds I added extra sugar. I've never made them with buttermilk, just normal milk and sometimes I add some yogurt for good measure, I just make sure that the oatmeal is moist after combining in the first step. Only complaint is that sometimes when I make them, they stick to the liners...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanna Groen
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
The texture was spot on! I'm sure this is what the author intended, a very basic muffin using oatmeal and buttermilk as base, but yet so versatile to the flavoring/toppings that you can add, I did orange almond cinnamon for my first try, and it was good! It was so easy to put together. I halved the recipe easily and it was done within 45 minutes (including 30 minutes oven preheating time)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States