Buttermilk Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This bread is great! I read the reviews before baking and added an extra 1 cup brown sugar, 2 tsp cinnimon,2 tsp nutmeg a pear, 2 bannanas, 1/2 an apple and pecans. Made a ginger glaze with powdered sugar for the top after baking and sprinkled with pecans....yummmy! This revision was for a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
This is a tasty, moist bread. I added one teaspoon of cinnamin and chopped pecans. As mentioned by the person who submitted the recipe, raisins, and spices add to the flavor. I'm sending this recipe to my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2000
I added 1/2 cup raisins and 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. Yummy!! I love the rich flavor of the brown sugar, too. Maybe my oven runs hot, but I also needed to reduce the temp to 325 and the baking time to 40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
Like most quick breads eat it quickly after it comes out of the oven for best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Quick and easy. I follwed the recipe and baked this in a pie plate. Cut and served in wedges -- ejoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Fantastic. Disappears as soon as I take it out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I have made this at least 5 times in the last month, adding 2 eggs instead of 1 makes it denser, it is delicious, not too sweet, great for anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Usually when I make a recipe for the first time, I follow it to the "T". After reading the reviews, I decided to add cinnamon, nutmeg, walnuts and some wheat germ. My husband and I loved it! We didn't feel it needed more sugar. Also, I didn't have any trouble with it crumbling when it was sliced. This is a keeper for my left over buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I just made this bread for the first time. I did add cinnamon and nutmeg; also used half the amount of oil called for. It is absolutely delicious. I did not have a prolem with it crumbling. Let it sit for ten minutes in the pan before taking it out and cool completely before slicing. Next time I make it I will add raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Oh my goodness, these are YUMMY!!!! The only difference: I used butter instead of oil and I added cranberries and walnuts, plus I made in a 9x13 pan, cut into squares. My husband and I finished off an entire recipe in 2 days! Not sweet, but sweet enough for breakfast or snack. I also added ground flax seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Tagle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States