Buttermilk Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I have made this at least 5 times in the last month, adding 2 eggs instead of 1 makes it denser, it is delicious, not too sweet, great for anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
This is a nice bread recipe and a great way to get rid of leftover buttermilk. I added a teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This bread is very moist, but a little on the bland side. I'll make this again, but next time I'll add some cinnamon to it, and maybe a bit more brown sugar. Decent starter bread to add things to. Also, if you don't have buttermilk on hand to make this with, just adding 1 tbs of lemon juice to a cup of regular milk will give you the same effect. Just as tasty, only cheaper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smllover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Easy to make. It tastes good, but a bit greasy and too crumble. I tried again with less oil (1/4 cup Canola oil) and use whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour, in order to have a healthier version. It comes out good but it needs a little bit more sugar when using whole wheat flour (3/4 cup brown sugar). And make sure to get rid of the lumps in the brown sugar before adding into the buttermilk oat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I added cinnamon and baked it in an 8x8 cake pan. Because it is crumbly it makes a great base for strawberry shortcake. I have served it several times this way to rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I have made this 5 times in the last month, it is that good and easy to make. I have made changes to the recipe each time and finally perfected it this time around. I use 2 eggs instead of 1 and 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of the oil. Add a little more brown sugar. Also add about 2 tsp. of cinnamon. I also add fruit to it, rasins, dried cherries, apples; whatever you think will taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Made this recipe to use up some buttermilk. I added raisins, nuts, and spices as suggested by other reviewers but felt the bread still needed something. Maybe needed to be sweeter? Also, although the bread is moist it's very crumbly and had to be eaten with a fork as there was no way you could pick up a slice. This was an okay recipe and smelled great while baking but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Quick and easy. I follwed the recipe and baked this in a pie plate. Cut and served in wedges -- ejoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is a great start. I cut the recipe in half, but used the whole egg, and it was the best quick bread texture I've ever had. But it is a blank slate, and you have to add other flavors to really make the most of this bread, because it is a little bland as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This is one of my favorite quick breads! Think cornbread type of taste but made with oatmeal and not sticky like some quick breads can be and you will appreciate this recipe. It is light, tender and wholesome with a hint a sweetness. I use a 1/4 c. of melted coconut oil without compromising the recipe and usually sub out 1/2 c. flour with white whole wheat flour (it's lighter than regular whole wheat flour) and leave out the salt. Delicious with a smear of soft butter and very adaptable to the addition of spices or made as muffins (12 regular sized or 6 jumbo).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States