Buttermilk Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
I was looking for a quick way to use up some buttermilk and this was fast and easy. I made the following changes: 3/4 c. brown sugar (instead of just the 1/2 c.), 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 3/4 c. raisins. My family eats muffins better than bread so I baked them in greased muffin tins (1 1/2 doz) at 350 for 20 minutes and my kids loved them. Moist and tasty, but they do tend to fall apart easily. I will make again adding diced apples along with the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This bread is very moist, but a little on the bland side. I'll make this again, but next time I'll add some cinnamon to it, and maybe a bit more brown sugar. Decent starter bread to add things to. Also, if you don't have buttermilk on hand to make this with, just adding 1 tbs of lemon juice to a cup of regular milk will give you the same effect. Just as tasty, only cheaper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smllover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Fantastic. Disappears as soon as I take it out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
This recipe had an overall good flavor. It was a bit crumbley. I made the recipe without any nuts or raisins as it was an accompaniment to pork stew. I will make again but perhaps add the nuts and such to make a breakfast bread. If you want something denser, then this probably isn't for you. This was super easy to make. Thanx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Made this recipe to use up some buttermilk. I added raisins, nuts, and spices as suggested by other reviewers but felt the bread still needed something. Maybe needed to be sweeter? Also, although the bread is moist it's very crumbly and had to be eaten with a fork as there was no way you could pick up a slice. This was an okay recipe and smelled great while baking but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
This bread is very moist, and tastes a lot like a bran muffin. I added a handful of raisins, but I think it would've been better with more raisins and some walnuts. Another easy way to use up leftover buttermilk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Quick and easy. I follwed the recipe and baked this in a pie plate. Cut and served in wedges -- ejoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
I added cinnamon and raisins as suggested by other reviewers. It had a nice, mild flavor, but I prefer a slightly sweeter bread. Also- it seemed to fall apart after cutting it even though I allowed it to cool completly. There are many better bread reipes I've tried in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
This is a nice bread recipe and a great way to get rid of leftover buttermilk. I added a teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
The aroma of this bread cooking smelled delicious. I didn't put anything extra in the batter as suggested, because my kids don't care for nuts or raisins. This bread tasted good plain, but would probably be even better with some walnuts and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States