Buttermilk Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I found this recipe when looking to use up leftover buttermilk. I think it turned out really well, though I made a few changes. I used applesauce instead of the oil, and added 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice. The texture of the finished bread was really nice - a bit chewy from the oats. I didn't find it to be greasy or crumbly at all; maybe the applesauce helped the texture in addition to REALLY cutting down on the fat content. The applesauce also gave the bread just a hint of apple flavor, which really went well with the cinnamon and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Oh my goodness, these are YUMMY!!!! The only difference: I used butter instead of oil and I added cranberries and walnuts, plus I made in a 9x13 pan, cut into squares. My husband and I finished off an entire recipe in 2 days! Not sweet, but sweet enough for breakfast or snack. I also added ground flax seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Tagle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I just made this bread for the first time. I did add cinnamon and nutmeg; also used half the amount of oil called for. It is absolutely delicious. I did not have a prolem with it crumbling. Let it sit for ten minutes in the pan before taking it out and cool completely before slicing. Next time I make it I will add raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Usually when I make a recipe for the first time, I follow it to the "T". After reading the reviews, I decided to add cinnamon, nutmeg, walnuts and some wheat germ. My husband and I loved it! We didn't feel it needed more sugar. Also, I didn't have any trouble with it crumbling when it was sliced. This is a keeper for my left over buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I have made this at least 5 times in the last month, adding 2 eggs instead of 1 makes it denser, it is delicious, not too sweet, great for anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is a great start. I cut the recipe in half, but used the whole egg, and it was the best quick bread texture I've ever had. But it is a blank slate, and you have to add other flavors to really make the most of this bread, because it is a little bland as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I added cinnamon and baked it in an 8x8 cake pan. Because it is crumbly it makes a great base for strawberry shortcake. I have served it several times this way to rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I really liked this bread. It came out very moist. I served it with a little butter. Very delicious.....Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Followed all directions on this recipe but bread turned out short and too moist for slicing without breaking apart. Tastes rather bland, might require something extra? Sorry, but wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Easy to make. It tastes good, but a bit greasy and too crumble. I tried again with less oil (1/4 cup Canola oil) and use whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour, in order to have a healthier version. It comes out good but it needs a little bit more sugar when using whole wheat flour (3/4 cup brown sugar). And make sure to get rid of the lumps in the brown sugar before adding into the buttermilk oat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States