Buttermilk Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I thought this was okay. It is hard telling by the recipe what it is exactly. It was way too sweet for a savory dish. Yet, its not quite sweet enough to be used for a dessert. Like the previous reviewer I decided to do half white whole wheat and reduced the salt. The salt taste was plenty using half. This does taste more like the oatmeal version of a corn muffin. I think the recipe would have more justice in a muffin shape brushed with a little honey. The loaf is also very flat and soft. I am rating the recipe based on the potential to be something good and interesting and a change from corn muffins. **Edit note: I followed the recipe exactly as is this time. I used the AP flour and no wheat and used the full amount of salt. It was totally different. It went from more of a slightly sweet bread to brown sugar and oatmeal muffin and almost cake like taste. I baked them in my Cuisinart chef classic muffin pan and they slipped right out just using a light spray of PAM before filling. I got 12 muffins and they took 35 minutes to bake. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This is one of my favorite quick breads! Think cornbread type of taste but made with oatmeal and not sticky like some quick breads can be and you will appreciate this recipe. It is light, tender and wholesome with a hint a sweetness. I use a 1/4 c. of melted coconut oil without compromising the recipe and usually sub out 1/2 c. flour with white whole wheat flour (it's lighter than regular whole wheat flour) and leave out the salt. Delicious with a smear of soft butter and very adaptable to the addition of spices or made as muffins (12 regular sized or 6 jumbo).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
We loved this...perfect for a chilly morning...I used the pie plate method of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I found this bread to be a little on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sningram

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willows, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Well, I don't know about anyone else but I was disappointed and have no idea why this cake crumbled up while trying to slice it. I did not over bake it at all. I did add coconut but can't see how that would make it crumble. Did this happen to anyone else. The taste was pretty good but a tad dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I have made this 5 times in the last month, it is that good and easy to make. I have made changes to the recipe each time and finally perfected it this time around. I use 2 eggs instead of 1 and 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of the oil. Add a little more brown sugar. Also add about 2 tsp. of cinnamon. I also add fruit to it, rasins, dried cherries, apples; whatever you think will taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Kefir instead of buttermilk,coconut oil instead of butter, added vanilla. Nice mildly sweet nutty flavor..YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This is amazing bread!!!!!!!!!!! I was out of eggs and substituted 1/4 cup applesauce instead, as well as using partially olive oil in place of the vegetable oil (I didn't have enough). I also added 3/4 cup brown sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. After 55 minutes, the bread seemed a bit mushy, but I took it out & it was perfect. This bread is very moist, and only a little crumbly. Perfect amount of taste and not bland at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This bread is great! I read the reviews before baking and added an extra 1 cup brown sugar, 2 tsp cinnimon,2 tsp nutmeg a pear, 2 bannanas, 1/2 an apple and pecans. Made a ginger glaze with powdered sugar for the top after baking and sprinkled with pecans....yummmy! This revision was for a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This is more like a quick bread / dessert. It was good, don't get me wrong but the texture was very heavy (which I was expecting due to the oatmeal) and it was slightly sweet. I would like to try it with less oil next time as it was really dense and crumbly. Not bad but not my favourite either. Like some other reviewers did say, it is a good starter recipe. I think it would make a terrific banana bread but the ingredients would have to be altered to compensate for the moisture in the bananas (not sure how to do that LOL). The only thing I have to give it 5 stars is the crust it makes. It is crispy and tasty! Probably due to the high fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States