Buttermilk Mango-Berry Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
this was awesome. It was nice because some parts were simple enough for kids to help. Make sure you get very ripe mangoes as the less ripe ones make it a bit sour, but we liked it that way. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This turned out great! very moist and a great topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This recipe is superb! I made this in a 9" springform pan and just needed to adjust the baking time to 65 min. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This is definitely a five-star recipe! I hesitated because I am not totally enamored of mango, but my Recipe Exchange friends told me this would be a good way to give it a second chance. I followed the recipe exactly, christening my new springform pan! By the way, a cup of raspberries is about a 6-oz container. I wish you could have seen my seven-year-old granddaughter bite into this yummy cake! She closed her eyes, rolled her bite around as if she had tasted a little bite of heaven, and begged for more. Need I ever say anything more?? UPDATE 8/21/10 This freezes very well. I just took out the half I saved wrapped in foil and then freezer-bagged, and when I heated it in the microwave, my hubby kept saying, "Mmmmm!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
awsome!!!! sooo goood i makin this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaley_Rae
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This lasted..less than 48 hours. It was that amazing. I didn't even make the crumb topping, but rather sprinkled Sugar in the Raw on top. Used milk an vinegar vs. buttermilk an subbed in blueberries. Everything followed exact an, as previously stated, it dissapeared. Madre is already asking for me to make it again!! Loved the top crunch an, an, ooo I'll be making again. Thanks for your loving recipe, it's spot on spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This is the BEST coffee cake. My office is still raving about it. It's light and moist and the crumb topping is perfect. This recipe was a great find and I'll certainly be making it again. I didn't use the mango, but an assortment of berries worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I tried these as muffins using powdered buttermilk, a peach and blueberries in place of mango and raspberries.{Submitter suggests all but the powder buttermilk as possible variations}. I look forward to doing these sometime when I have the pans and all the listed ingredients, but even with my substitutions they were tasty. I do wonder if a hotter oven (400 F. perhaps) for 20 to 25 minutes would work if doing muffins. I made two dozen small muffins and cooked at 350 for about thirty minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This is a very nice coffee cake recipe. But then, it's hard to reinvent coffee cake as the recipe, and slight variations of it, have been around since time began. Although, I did enjoy the unusual addition of mango in combination with the raspberries. I have always used buttermilk in baking - it makes a world of difference. So I was glad to see this recipe utilizing it. Nothing needs changing here, and I would use this recipe again. *I am updating my rating as I recently noticed when looking for a recipe through my reviews, that I mistakenly gave this a 4 rating when I do believe I meant to give it a 5. This recipe did not need any adjustments so I shouldn't have given a 4. I admit I'm an old lady so that will be my sorry excuse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MarielJD
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This is THE perfect crumb cake. Some can be dry or have a topping that just isn't right. This is moist, buttery delicious and the crumb topping is excellent. The buttermilk makes this especially moist and tasty, I think, and the slight hint of nutmeg adds another dimension of flavor. While I can see making this with lots of different fruits as possibilities, or even plain for that matter, I liked the combination of raspberries and mango. Thanks for the great recipe Naples34102
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarielJD
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States