Buttermilk Mango-Berry Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Seemed a little blaw and not for a palate that likes flavor. The idea is kinda good, but could use a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I am surprised I have not written a review before, I thought I had as this is my go-to recipe for crumb cake. Moist, flavorful, good with any fruit and it has a nice presentation. This has gone over well at church coffee hour and bake sales. I would give it more than 5 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Delicious! I used blueberries since I didn't have a mango nearby and fresh raspberries from my garden. Quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I make this every holiday! I use blackberries/ blueberries/ raspberries instead of the mango/ raspberry combo, depending on what is in season. Served with fresh whipped cream make it unstoppable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This cake tasted very much like a crumb topped muffin. It was delicious. I made it in the morning and served it to guests for breakfast/brunch and everyone loved it. I used blueberries in place of the mango and cinnamon in place of the nutmeg. I used my stand mixer and made sure to whip the butter and sugar very well. When the batter was ready to go in the pan, it was quite thick and I was concerned, but it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I wanted to use up some buttermilk and mangos that I had. I usually make mango blueberry muffins from this site but wanted to try something different. Coincidently this recipe was one of the featured photos of the day. And it being Naples' recipe made it even more appealing. (I'm a huge fan of her reviews) Let me tell you, I'm sure happy I made this. It's fabulous. I used mangos and blueberries. For those that have a problem with the mango measurements being vague (i.e. 1 mango) the average mango yields about 1 cup of fruit after it is seeded and diced. My mangos were on the small side so I diced enough to fill one cup. As I was making the crumb topping I thought oh my gosh this is a LOT of topping but I trusted that Naples knew what she was doing. And it is a crumb cake after all. The amount of topping turned out to be just perfect. I used a 9" springform pan and baked it for 10 minutes longer (reduced heat to 325 after 50 minutes). I tried a piece straight out of the oven because I couldn't wait and although it was delicious I knew it would be better a few hours after it cooled when the cake got a chance to set. And I was right. Don't know how I kept from eating the whole thing. I can't wait to eat it for breakfast tomorrow because I know it will be even better. Thank you Naples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Excellent coffee cake. I doubled the recipe and made a 9x13 and I'm so glad I did. I did cut the sugar in the cake batter to 1&1/2 cups in place of the 2 cups called for when doubled but it was still perfectly sweet. And I used a 12oz package of frozen raspberries but no mango. Had no problem with it being either dry or gummy. I baked it for 1 hour and about 5 minutes and took it out when my toothpicks came out with just a couple of crumbs clinging to them. Thank you Naples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by babymama'10
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I was looking for a recipe to use up some of the buttermilk I have. After looking over many, this is the one that made my mouth water so I had to make it. And everything was in my fridge, freezer, pantry or fruit bowl. I used frozen raspberries. This is crazy good. I'm taking the rest of it to my sisters house for cinco de mayo gathering. Thank you Naples.....for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babymama'10

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Loved this coffee cake! I splurged by using real butter and substituted blueberries. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I substituted cinnamon for the optional nutmeg as suggested in review. I think it could be five stars without cinnamon in cake batter. Texture was just right. Had a combination of fruit, a little bit of raspberries, mango and blackberries was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States