Buttermilk Mango-Berry Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This recipe is a delightful change from the normal sugary, super sweet cakes, cookies, etc...not that I don't appreciate those as well! I personally did not care for the fresh mango chunks as they got watered down and lost, well, all of their flavor, but I could tell from the blueberries that more substantial fruits are key and will use blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, etc, in the future. I took the finished product to a meeting a few nights ago and everyone raved and are *still* talking about it--esp. the men (go figure...*smile*). The most over-the-top, decadent goodness in this recipe is the crumb topping. It's so divine that I decided to make "Banana Chip Muffins I" from this site today and and while several reviewers stated they added cinnamon to the batter, I just couldn't see that in my mind's eye with everything already going on ingredient-wise. Then, I had an "ah-ha" moment--incorporate some cinnamon by adding THIS crumb topping! The topping completely salvaged an otherwise ho-hum recipe. I have a little left over that I think will even be good on vanilla ice cream. Kudos to the submitter for a most definite make again recipe many times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This was a wonderful cake! I only had blueberries, so I went with those and the mango, of course, but can't wait to try it with other fruits too. I love a nice, thick crumb topping and this was just perfect! I thought I had an 9" square pan, but it was only an 8", so I used my 9" round pan and that worked out just fine. I will most definately be making this often! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I am the submitter of this recipe and I thought I'd add a note now that it's been published! It took making lots of coffee cakes and muffins over many years to know what I like in a recipe for them - namely, butter, buttermilk (or sour cream), a little cinnamon and a perfect crumb topping. Tossing in a little fruit that you want to use before it goes to waste doesn't hurt either! If you don't like nutmeg, leave it out. Or substitute with cinnamon or lemon zest. Don't want a coffee cake? This is easily converted to muffins. Today I sprinkled some powdered sugar over the cooled cake (still using the crumb topping), but just a simple glaze of powdered sugar and a little milk, drizzled over the crumb topping after it's cooled is pretty too, and adds just a little more sweetness. Also, fresh or frozen berries may be used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This is definitely a five-star recipe! I hesitated because I am not totally enamored of mango, but my Recipe Exchange friends told me this would be a good way to give it a second chance. I followed the recipe exactly, christening my new springform pan! By the way, a cup of raspberries is about a 6-oz container. I wish you could have seen my seven-year-old granddaughter bite into this yummy cake! She closed her eyes, rolled her bite around as if she had tasted a little bite of heaven, and begged for more. Need I ever say anything more?? UPDATE 8/21/10 This freezes very well. I just took out the half I saved wrapped in foil and then freezer-bagged, and when I heated it in the microwave, my hubby kept saying, "Mmmmm!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MarielJD
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This is THE perfect crumb cake. Some can be dry or have a topping that just isn't right. This is moist, buttery delicious and the crumb topping is excellent. The buttermilk makes this especially moist and tasty, I think, and the slight hint of nutmeg adds another dimension of flavor. While I can see making this with lots of different fruits as possibilities, or even plain for that matter, I liked the combination of raspberries and mango. Thanks for the great recipe Naples34102
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarielJD
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This is a very nice coffee cake recipe. But then, it's hard to reinvent coffee cake as the recipe, and slight variations of it, have been around since time began. Although, I did enjoy the unusual addition of mango in combination with the raspberries. I have always used buttermilk in baking - it makes a world of difference. So I was glad to see this recipe utilizing it. Nothing needs changing here, and I would use this recipe again. *I am updating my rating as I recently noticed when looking for a recipe through my reviews, that I mistakenly gave this a 4 rating when I do believe I meant to give it a 5. This recipe did not need any adjustments so I shouldn't have given a 4. I admit I'm an old lady so that will be my sorry excuse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I tried these as muffins using powdered buttermilk, a peach and blueberries in place of mango and raspberries.{Submitter suggests all but the powder buttermilk as possible variations}. I look forward to doing these sometime when I have the pans and all the listed ingredients, but even with my substitutions they were tasty. I do wonder if a hotter oven (400 F. perhaps) for 20 to 25 minutes would work if doing muffins. I made two dozen small muffins and cooked at 350 for about thirty minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This is the BEST coffee cake. My office is still raving about it. It's light and moist and the crumb topping is perfect. This recipe was a great find and I'll certainly be making it again. I didn't use the mango, but an assortment of berries worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaley_Rae
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This lasted..less than 48 hours. It was that amazing. I didn't even make the crumb topping, but rather sprinkled Sugar in the Raw on top. Used milk an vinegar vs. buttermilk an subbed in blueberries. Everything followed exact an, as previously stated, it dissapeared. Madre is already asking for me to make it again!! Loved the top crunch an, an, ooo I'll be making again. Thanks for your loving recipe, it's spot on spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
awsome!!!! sooo goood i makin this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States