Buttermilk Mango-Berry Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I made this with my 10 year old daughter. It was easy for her to follow the well written directions pretty much by herself with minimal help. We didn't have fresh mango so we used fresh blueberries instead and the cake turned out wonderful. The topping is incredible and just makes the cake. My daughter saved the last few pieces for her grandparents and days later it was still moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
We loved this! I love that it's not too sweet, which makes me feel better about giving it too my kids. I used mangoes and strawberries...fantastic. The only thing is I used an 8x8 pan and it needed longer to bake. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This is a wonderful crumb cake - I used blueberries and mango, and the only change was to use 1/4 cup of egg white, only because I realized at the last minute I had used my last whole egg. I did need to bake a bit longer - probably closer to 50 minutes for the toothpick test to work out. The cake is so very moist and tender, and the crumb topping is perfect. I can't wait to try other fruit combinations! In fact, I can't wait to try it without fruit, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Excellent! Very moist, and would be just as good without the fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gidgette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
AWESOME! So moist and delicious. I love the fact that different fruits can be used. I used a fresh peach and a cup of frozen raspberries. I can't wait to try others. The topping was incredible! It made the whole cake just perfect. Thank you Naples for sharing such an AWESOME recipe! UPDATE: I just made this recipe again but this time as muffins. I divided the batter into four bowls. One bowl had the addition of blueberries, another had raspberries, another I added cranberries and apples were added to the last. I now have a variety of muffins not to mention that some muffins will be a surprise combination. The only problem I see is I want to try them all! They took a little less time to bake so just keep your eye on them until a toothpick comes out clean. Also, no need to double the topping. I did and it wasn't necessary. Thanks again Naples!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
FABULOUS! As quoted by my boyfriend: this is probably the best coffee cake I've made yet. And I bake A LOT. I am SO pleased with how this turned out. I loved the texture and flavors...mango and blueberries go together very nicely in this recipe. I used the optional nutmeg (freshly grated, which makes a difference!). I added a little drizzle of cream cheese frosting to the top (it didn't stay on very well because it's a crumb-y topping, but whatev) and it was a nice addition. Can't wait to make again with all sorts of flavor variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Absolutely delish! Moist, perfectly sweet without being too much so. The topping is spot on. Just LOVE it! I only used mango in mine this time around. I'd love to have it plain-the cake is just THAT good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I didn't make any changes to the recipe other than I probably added more fruit than the recipe called for as I didn't measure it. I made 4 mini loafs with this recipe and thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
this was awesome. It was nice because some parts were simple enough for kids to help. Make sure you get very ripe mangoes as the less ripe ones make it a bit sour, but we liked it that way. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This turned out great! very moist and a great topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States