Buttermilk Mango-Berry Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Delicious crumb cake! I was eyeing up this recipe for a while and since I had some buttermilk on hand that I wanted to use up it was time to give it a try. I didn't add any of the fruit as I wanted a classic crumb cake and boy did I find one! Just as the submitter states, it's just as delicous without the fruit. The crumb topping is wonderful and next time I'll double it, because it was so good. The cake itself was moist, slightly sweet, and nicely spiced. I topped it with a nice dose of powdered sugar and it was perfect with a cup of tea or coffee. I can't wait to try this again with a variety of fruits such as apple or blueberry and maybe throw in some nuts like walnuts or pecans....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I've never made crumb cake before, but this will be one of my staple recipes! Easy to make, delicious, and I love the inventiveness of combining mango and raspberry. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Hmmmm... I did something wrong. I'm a novice cook. Mine didn't come out anything like the pictures and it was not near sweet enough. I think if I did this one again I would make it sweeter, for sure. I recommend more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eastland, Texas, USA
Living In: Blanco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I made this with my 10 year old daughter. It was easy for her to follow the well written directions pretty much by herself with minimal help. We didn't have fresh mango so we used fresh blueberries instead and the cake turned out wonderful. The topping is incredible and just makes the cake. My daughter saved the last few pieces for her grandparents and days later it was still moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
We loved this! I love that it's not too sweet, which makes me feel better about giving it too my kids. I used mangoes and strawberries...fantastic. The only thing is I used an 8x8 pan and it needed longer to bake. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This is a wonderful crumb cake - I used blueberries and mango, and the only change was to use 1/4 cup of egg white, only because I realized at the last minute I had used my last whole egg. I did need to bake a bit longer - probably closer to 50 minutes for the toothpick test to work out. The cake is so very moist and tender, and the crumb topping is perfect. I can't wait to try other fruit combinations! In fact, I can't wait to try it without fruit, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Excellent! Very moist, and would be just as good without the fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gidgette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
AWESOME! So moist and delicious. I love the fact that different fruits can be used. I used a fresh peach and a cup of frozen raspberries. I can't wait to try others. The topping was incredible! It made the whole cake just perfect. Thank you Naples for sharing such an AWESOME recipe! UPDATE: I just made this recipe again but this time as muffins. I divided the batter into four bowls. One bowl had the addition of blueberries, another had raspberries, another I added cranberries and apples were added to the last. I now have a variety of muffins not to mention that some muffins will be a surprise combination. The only problem I see is I want to try them all! They took a little less time to bake so just keep your eye on them until a toothpick comes out clean. Also, no need to double the topping. I did and it wasn't necessary. Thanks again Naples!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
FABULOUS! As quoted by my boyfriend: this is probably the best coffee cake I've made yet. And I bake A LOT. I am SO pleased with how this turned out. I loved the texture and flavors...mango and blueberries go together very nicely in this recipe. I used the optional nutmeg (freshly grated, which makes a difference!). I added a little drizzle of cream cheese frosting to the top (it didn't stay on very well because it's a crumb-y topping, but whatev) and it was a nice addition. Can't wait to make again with all sorts of flavor variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Absolutely delish! Moist, perfectly sweet without being too much so. The topping is spot on. Just LOVE it! I only used mango in mine this time around. I'd love to have it plain-the cake is just THAT good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States