Buttermilk Mango-Berry Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Here was the challenge...could a novice baker (such as me) make this cake with results as good as his wife’s (the submitter, Naples34102)? I admit I did need a moderate amount of supervision and guidance. I didn’t know, for instance, to mix the crumble topping with a fork! And there were a couple of other missteps as well; the mango wasn’t ripe enough and I mistakenly brought heavy cream home from the store, not buttermilk. But not a problem because Naples always has frozen berries on hand (I used raspberries and blueberries) and she introduced me to buttermilk powder. I found her recipe directions easy to follow (for a novice like myself) and the cake a breeze to mix up. I’m not generally a fan of coffeecakes or muffins, but I sure do like this one. I’ll be bringing it into the office and I can’t wait to hear my staff’s reaction when I tell them this time this was my contribution, not my wife’s!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I used frozen mango taste great and nice and moist. This is a cake I will make on a regular basis. Next try will be with strawberry's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Dube

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Great recipe!!! I'm allergic to milk so I used rice dream and it still came out amazing!!! The only change I would make is put in less mango
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I'm Naples' daughter and it's about time I tried my mom's recipe! Maybe I'm a little biased but this was excellent, just as I knew it would be, having grown up with the benefit of all her awesome cooking and baking! Nice and moist, fruity and flavorful, with a delicious crumb topping that's just a little different than most. I'm not as experienced as Mom is, of course, but her recipe is easy to follow and turns out a great finished product!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTooth122

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Truely a perfect medley of ingredients. I added the optional nutmeg but other than that I didn't double guess the recipe as I sometimes do based on reviews, and was rewarded with a perfectly moist, heavenly cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for Two

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
It was sooo good didn't have buttermilk used sour cream with a little half&half doubled recipe 2cups blueberries 2cup fresh mangoes will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristene Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was average. I did not like the combination of mango and rasberries in it. If I made it again I would leave it out or use blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was great! I used buttermilk powder & water instead of buttermilk and subbed gluten-free flour blend. I have been looking for a good crumb cake recipe and I think this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I just want to say the crumb topping makes ALOT, so next time (as I used a round cake pan for lack of a square one) I will layer the topping and batter. The only changes was to use half butter and half unsweetened applesauce, reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup, milk + lemon juice for the buttermilk and strawberries instead of the raspberries. Made it for my son's birthday and the three of us enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States