Buttermilk Mango-Berry Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I made this recently for Mothers Day, it was a huge hit!! Everyone loved it and it was delicious! Will definitely make again and try experimenting with different types of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Excellent recipe, I used no calorie sugar and fat free buttermilk, this might be a lower fat- lower calorie option for the cake and it still tastes excellent. I only used mangos and it turned put great, I really recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
very dry and the healthy fruit is cancelled my the fatty additives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beaner4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was a big hit. I used some leftover frozen peaches and blueberries which was a nice flavor combination, and I look forward to making this again with raspberries. A big square of this is impressive and looks like the expensive coffee cake at a coffee shop. Because I bake at high altitude, I reduced the butter to 6.5 T. and the sugar to 7/8 c. in the batter, and it worked perfectly with a rich, buttery flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This recipe may require less fruit. I baked this a little longer to "fully" cook; the cake was gummy and the topping was not crumb like. Baking is something I love to do but this just doesn't cut it as is. My mango's may have been too juicy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Absolutely perfect in every way. I used fresh blackberries and a small handful of fresh raspberries and baked in a 9" springform and everyone loves it. The texture, sweetness level, amount of fruit and topping, ... everything is exactly what I have been looking for and finally found it. Can't wait to make it with other fruits. Made a conf sugar and lemon juice glaze to drizzle, for those who wanted it. This cake is amazing with or without it. I know this one will be requested often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Here was the challenge...could a novice baker (such as me) make this cake with results as good as his wife’s (the submitter, Naples34102)? I admit I did need a moderate amount of supervision and guidance. I didn’t know, for instance, to mix the crumble topping with a fork! And there were a couple of other missteps as well; the mango wasn’t ripe enough and I mistakenly brought heavy cream home from the store, not buttermilk. But not a problem because Naples always has frozen berries on hand (I used raspberries and blueberries) and she introduced me to buttermilk powder. I found her recipe directions easy to follow (for a novice like myself) and the cake a breeze to mix up. I’m not generally a fan of coffeecakes or muffins, but I sure do like this one. I’ll be bringing it into the office and I can’t wait to hear my staff’s reaction when I tell them this time this was my contribution, not my wife’s!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I used frozen mango taste great and nice and moist. This is a cake I will make on a regular basis. Next try will be with strawberry's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Dube

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Great recipe!!! I'm allergic to milk so I used rice dream and it still came out amazing!!! The only change I would make is put in less mango
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I'm Naples' daughter and it's about time I tried my mom's recipe! Maybe I'm a little biased but this was excellent, just as I knew it would be, having grown up with the benefit of all her awesome cooking and baking! Nice and moist, fruity and flavorful, with a delicious crumb topping that's just a little different than most. I'm not as experienced as Mom is, of course, but her recipe is easy to follow and turns out a great finished product!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTooth122

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States