Buttermilk Mango-Berry Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
very moist and well balanced flavors. Easy to make and measurements precise. Had a fresh mango and lots of raspberries on hand. also used low-fat buttermilk since I had that on hand as well. Make sure you blend well, batter will be thick. crumb topping yummy and overall smells wonderful. delish and a keeper. thank you naples!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I wanted to use up some frozen raspberries and this was a perfect way to do so. I enjoyed the crunch of the topping, and the crumb was dense, but not too heavy. I did think it was just a little too sweet (thus the 4 star) but the others that ate it didn't seem to. Thank you Naples34102, for a very nice cake recipe, that I will make again and try with different fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I've been looking for a great crumb topping and this is the one. I love the description of "wet sand" it really lets me know what I'm looking for. Cake is great, have done all types of fruit and is also great plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I made this recently for Mothers Day, it was a huge hit!! Everyone loved it and it was delicious! Will definitely make again and try experimenting with different types of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Excellent recipe, I used no calorie sugar and fat free buttermilk, this might be a lower fat- lower calorie option for the cake and it still tastes excellent. I only used mangos and it turned put great, I really recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
very dry and the healthy fruit is cancelled my the fatty additives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beaner4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was a big hit. I used some leftover frozen peaches and blueberries which was a nice flavor combination, and I look forward to making this again with raspberries. A big square of this is impressive and looks like the expensive coffee cake at a coffee shop. Because I bake at high altitude, I reduced the butter to 6.5 T. and the sugar to 7/8 c. in the batter, and it worked perfectly with a rich, buttery flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This recipe may require less fruit. I baked this a little longer to "fully" cook; the cake was gummy and the topping was not crumb like. Baking is something I love to do but this just doesn't cut it as is. My mango's may have been too juicy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Absolutely perfect in every way. I used fresh blackberries and a small handful of fresh raspberries and baked in a 9" springform and everyone loves it. The texture, sweetness level, amount of fruit and topping, ... everything is exactly what I have been looking for and finally found it. Can't wait to make it with other fruits. Made a conf sugar and lemon juice glaze to drizzle, for those who wanted it. This cake is amazing with or without it. I know this one will be requested often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Here was the challenge...could a novice baker (such as me) make this cake with results as good as his wife’s (the submitter, Naples34102)? I admit I did need a moderate amount of supervision and guidance. I didn’t know, for instance, to mix the crumble topping with a fork! And there were a couple of other missteps as well; the mango wasn’t ripe enough and I mistakenly brought heavy cream home from the store, not buttermilk. But not a problem because Naples always has frozen berries on hand (I used raspberries and blueberries) and she introduced me to buttermilk powder. I found her recipe directions easy to follow (for a novice like myself) and the cake a breeze to mix up. I’m not generally a fan of coffeecakes or muffins, but I sure do like this one. I’ll be bringing it into the office and I can’t wait to hear my staff’s reaction when I tell them this time this was my contribution, not my wife’s!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States