Buttermilk Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Very good next time I will add corn. I did mix a little jalapeño for kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I am from Louisiana too, and these were as good as the ones I eat in my favorite restaurant. They are light and fluffy on the inside and crisp on the outside. One note, The recipe does not specify, but I used white cornmeal instead of the usual yellow cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bunkie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
ok, had a hard time getting oil hot enough to cook without saturating pups with grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spratlas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idabel, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deena
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I thought these were fantastic! Only gave 4 stars because the batter was really thin and couldn't hold their shape. All I did was add an additional 1/2 cup each of flour and cornmeal. I also added one finely chopped jalapeño, and since I didn't have any onion I added 1.5 tsp of onion powder to the dry part of the mix. I used a cookie dough scoop and they came out perfectly, just like the restaurants I remember in Maryland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Loved It. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BG Smooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburg, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Followed recipe exactly as written.: Tasted ok to me, but Hubby and 13 year old son refused to eat more than one each.The puppies came out black(not brown)- though not burnt and very very oilyyyyy. Will try these again, but in the oven as a sort of cornbread/cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ardris
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Tonight I made this recipe and quickly discovered, after making it, that it was the most delicious I had ever tried. This was not just a glop fried in oil but the flavors of corn came through wonderfully. I did make one change which was to use Himalayan Pink salt instead of using regular table salt. Outside of that I followed the recipe to a tee. Thank you, Christopher
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I'm a Northern girl who moved to Louisiana. I've had some good hush puppies down here but this recipe is fan-freaking-tastic. My husband gobbles them right up. These aren't quite as dense as the ones I've had at some local restaurants but I love that. I do decrease the sugar to a tablespoon and add some sweet frozen corn. These are to die for. One of my favorite finds on this site. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
These were light and airy. I have never had a homemade hush puppy. My kitchen smelled like the State Fair. The smell even lingered the next day until I opened both doors. I opted to use the large saucepan technique, but really had to keep adjusting the temperature according to my thermometer. I just dont have a deep fryer. I did slightly less than 1" of oil, as I wasn't going to toss a quart of it. So, I am probably partially to blaim. I suggest a deep fryer, as these quite honestly soaked up way too much oil by the saucepan technique. After reading all the reviews, I made a half a recipe and got about 20~22 and used only 1 1/2 teaspoons of sugar. It seemed like the right amount. Note, if making these, and as another reviewer suggested, they do not reheat well. So, eat hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States