Buttermilk Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Very good next time I will add corn. I did mix a little jalapeño for kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I am from Louisiana too, and these were as good as the ones I eat in my favorite restaurant. They are light and fluffy on the inside and crisp on the outside. One note, The recipe does not specify, but I used white cornmeal instead of the usual yellow cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bunkie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
ok, had a hard time getting oil hot enough to cook without saturating pups with grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spratlas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idabel, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deena
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I thought these were fantastic! Only gave 4 stars because the batter was really thin and couldn't hold their shape. All I did was add an additional 1/2 cup each of flour and cornmeal. I also added one finely chopped jalapeño, and since I didn't have any onion I added 1.5 tsp of onion powder to the dry part of the mix. I used a cookie dough scoop and they came out perfectly, just like the restaurants I remember in Maryland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Loved It. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BG Smooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburg, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Followed recipe exactly as written.: Tasted ok to me, but Hubby and 13 year old son refused to eat more than one each.The puppies came out black(not brown)- though not burnt and very very oilyyyyy. Will try these again, but in the oven as a sort of cornbread/cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ardris
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Tonight I made this recipe and quickly discovered, after making it, that it was the most delicious I had ever tried. This was not just a glop fried in oil but the flavors of corn came through wonderfully. I did make one change which was to use Himalayan Pink salt instead of using regular table salt. Outside of that I followed the recipe to a tee. Thank you, Christopher
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I'm a Northern girl who moved to Louisiana. I've had some good hush puppies down here but this recipe is fan-freaking-tastic. My husband gobbles them right up. These aren't quite as dense as the ones I've had at some local restaurants but I love that. I do decrease the sugar to a tablespoon and add some sweet frozen corn. These are to die for. One of my favorite finds on this site. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
These were light and airy. I have never had a homemade hush puppy. My kitchen smelled like the State Fair. The smell even lingered the next day until I opened both doors. I opted to use the large saucepan technique, but really had to keep adjusting the temperature according to my thermometer. I just dont have a deep fryer. I did slightly less than 1" of oil, as I wasn't going to toss a quart of it. So, I am probably partially to blaim. I suggest a deep fryer, as these quite honestly soaked up way too much oil by the saucepan technique. After reading all the reviews, I made a half a recipe and got about 20~22 and used only 1 1/2 teaspoons of sugar. It seemed like the right amount. Note, if making these, and as another reviewer suggested, they do not reheat well. So, eat hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States