Buttermilk Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ardris
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Tonight I made this recipe and quickly discovered, after making it, that it was the most delicious I had ever tried. This was not just a glop fried in oil but the flavors of corn came through wonderfully. I did make one change which was to use Himalayan Pink salt instead of using regular table salt. Outside of that I followed the recipe to a tee. Thank you, Christopher
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I'm a Northern girl who moved to Louisiana. I've had some good hush puppies down here but this recipe is fan-freaking-tastic. My husband gobbles them right up. These aren't quite as dense as the ones I've had at some local restaurants but I love that. I do decrease the sugar to a tablespoon and add some sweet frozen corn. These are to die for. One of my favorite finds on this site. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
These were light and airy. I have never had a homemade hush puppy. My kitchen smelled like the State Fair. The smell even lingered the next day until I opened both doors. I opted to use the large saucepan technique, but really had to keep adjusting the temperature according to my thermometer. I just dont have a deep fryer. I did slightly less than 1" of oil, as I wasn't going to toss a quart of it. So, I am probably partially to blaim. I suggest a deep fryer, as these quite honestly soaked up way too much oil by the saucepan technique. After reading all the reviews, I made a half a recipe and got about 20~22 and used only 1 1/2 teaspoons of sugar. It seemed like the right amount. Note, if making these, and as another reviewer suggested, they do not reheat well. So, eat hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
WARNING: These cook VERY fast. I'm talking seconds. Keep them small so the insides cook without burning the outside. Also, cut back the sugar to about 1 tablespoon. Double the corn meal and flour. And allow the batter to sit while your oil heats up. It will thicken to more usable texture. The final taste was pretty good, what few that were not incinerated. That and the sweetness kept this from being a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I made these hush puppies as written except I added to many onions by mistake. They were still good; light, good flavor and texture. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Awesome! I will be making these again and again. They could use a little more salt. My husband tried adding a pinch of garlic salt, and thought they were excellent! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I love this recipe for hush puppies...Even my daughter said " For me that doesn't like hush puppies, I like these" Very good!!! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I made this recipe to compliment fried fish, gumbo, potato salad, etc. it was a big hit. The batter was very wet, so I did increase the flour and corn meal. I probably added another 1/4 to 1/2 cup each. Then they dropped beautifully into the hot oil and fried up delicious! Also, I made the buttermilk by putting 1 TBSP vinegar into the measuring cup, then adding the milk up to a cup. Then wait five minutes and you have a buttermilk substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Heaven, I'm in Heaven.....Need I say more? These are exquisite. Like others wrote, light and crunchy. I added a jalapeno pepper and can't really taste it, so next time, I think I'll stick with cayenne pepper to really kick it up a notch. Just a note, though. At 365 degrees they brown very quickly (and I didn't add sugar). I found that they didn't need to go the whole 6 minutes. If you cut into them to see if they're done, they may not be totally, but they continue to cook after being removed from the grease so don't wory too much about that. These are absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Ever time I make these people want the recipe, they are very light-not at doughy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States