Buttermilk Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This was the best hushpuppy recipe I've ever tried! I added chopped jalapenos for an extra kick; next time I think I'll add some corn. They were so light and fluffy--not heavy or doughy at all. No need to keep them warm in the oven--we were eating them as soon as they came out of the fryer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I love hush puppies and I thought these were great. I added a little cayenne pepper,extra salt and paprika. I liked this recipe because I don't keep self-rising flour on hand and I didn't want to have to think about the conversion with salt & baking soda because it was already taken care of in the recipe. Also, I used plain milk and added a little vinegar to make buttermilk. Even with the substitutions, they came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond Hill, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I ended up having to add about 2/3 cup more of flour and cornmeal (mixed with equal amounts of each)because the batter was very thin and the hushpuppies ended up resembling funnel cakes instead of hushpuppies! I liked the flavor, especially with the corn, which is something I've never done before. I cut back the sugar by half (I used 2 tablespoons) because I don't like them that sweet and it was just enough to enhance the corn. I wish I had added a little more salt, though, because I thought it really needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
My husband's from Louisiana, and swears that these hush puppies are the very best he's ever eaten! Followed directions to a T, and will never make another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
These tasted nice and light. Not like the average hush puppy that's all dense and cakey. We liked them, but they are ONLY good the day you make them. So you might want to half the recipe if you're only feeding a few people because they made a TON. I didn't add the green onion (I didn't have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Making these hush puppies right now. They are fantastic! Had to sample with the honey butter I made. Just added some fresh chives otherwise made them exactly as written. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe has a great flavor---but don't put the sugar in it. It makes the batter so easy to burn. Knowing that going in, I halved the amount of sugar--but I still ended up with burning puppies in the pan. I lowered the heat of the oil, but at that point it was too late and every batch burned or didn't cook through. I tried frying smaller sizes of batter, but at that point I was just "done" and gave up. The batter itself is nice, and were it not for the issue with the sugar, I'd give it a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Speaking as someone who loves hush puppies, but had never tried to make them until just a couple hours ago, I thought this recipe was great! The fritters turned out perfectly light and fluffy! I also thought the ratio of salt to sugar was right for the average person's taste. So, this was my take on it: I minced the onion and green onion together with a stick of celery (keep in mind I made a double batch) for a little extra homey, rich flavor and about a third of a poblano pepper. I'm not all that into spicy things, but it added a little somethin' to the recipe. I also folded in frozen corn. Last, unless you're a deep frying pro, I would suggest using an icecream scoop to release and drop the batter quickly into the oil. Using a spoon didn't work well because it just kinda dribbled in little by little, cooking unevenly and making my hush puppies look a mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Flavor and texture were good. I added some ground cayenne, garlic powder, pepper, and additional salt. Next time I'll try with jalapeño.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I don't have a deep fryer so I pan fried them into little pancakes. They were Delicious. I did add some creole seasoning. I ate with the catfish recipe by the same cook. Thanks. Next time I will add corn and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States