Buttermilk Honey Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Very good, but the directions for baking are a bit off. This bread is very crumbly. I baked it for about 40-45 minutes in order to bake it completely. I'm glad I made the dough in the breadmaker and then baked in the oven. I have a good breadmaker, but I'm not sure how it would have done with this loaf. I made my own buttermilk with lemon juice (1 tbsp per c of milk). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
GREAT bread. I'm giving 4 stars because I used the suggestions from others on the site, but with the changes it was definately 5 stars. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This is a very nice loaf. The only change I make is to use melted butter (not margerine) in place of the oil. I use my bread machine set on basic/medium, and it comes out with a nice crust. For those who mentioned it as more batter like or too soft a dough, this is common in all bread making. Depending on the temperature, moisture in the air and moisture content of your flour, the dough will have a slightly different consistency each time you make it. For this reason, always check your dough after a couple of minutes of kneading in the bread machine, adding more flour if needed until the dough is soft but not too sticky and pulls away from the sides of the pan. Add just a small amount of flour at a time as this bread does well with a soft dough and too much flour will make it heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This is a delicious bread. I never use a bread machine, just my two hands and my kitchenaid mixer, and this recipe was wonderful for both. Little sticky when you go to shape it, but don't be tempted to dry it out with too much flour...it cooks up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
A good basic and moist wheat bread recipe. I followed another reviewer's directions and these are the changes I made: let the yeast mix in 1/2 cup water (105 degrees) with 1 tbs sugar, reduced the buttermilk to 1 cup, added 1 tbs gluten (since I had it and it seems to make my wheat breads taste a bit better) and let it rise in the oven with the oven light on. I kneaded it in my kitchen aid with the dough hook for around 4 minutes before it overheated and gave off some wierd smell. But that aside, it was kneaded enough and then I let it rise. It did rise slower then my other breads but it came out perfectly, dome shaped, and a nice brown crust. I did bake it for 20 minutes at 350 degrees instead of 25 minutes. It was very moist and tasty. Thanks to the OP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Really good. I followed another reviewer's advice and proofed the yeast with a 1/2 cup of water and a little sugar. I then reduced the buttermilk by 1/2 cup. I did have to add a little bit more flour and it seemed really sticky but I let it rise, punched it down and baked it and it was great. A few friends stopped over and they thought it was great. I will definitely make this again. This recipe is great alone or I bet it could be a really great base recipe too. I bet you could add sunflower seeds, oatmeal, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia
Home Town: Cambridge, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I don’t have a bread machine but made this recipe with the same ingredient amounts. I proofed 1 pkg of yeast with warmed-up the buttermilk, which I made using 1 Tbsp of vinegar and the rest fat-free milk for 10 minutes. Next, I add all the wet ingredients to the milk mixture. Then, I mixed the dry mixtures into my mixer and poured the milk mixture and mixed using the paddle attachment. Next, I used the hook attachment and ‘kneed’ for 4 minutes. Took out the dough and hand-kneed with a little flour and placed in an oiled bowl and let rise for 1 hour. Punch down and shaped into 12 balls. Placed the 12 pieces into a 13x9 glass pan and let rise for another hour. Baked at the recommended, 25 minutes at 350 degrees. This bread was moist and tender. It tasted great with or without butter. The left-over bread was stored in the refrigerator, wrapped in aluminum foil and then in plastic wrap. The next day, it was still moist and tender and I didn’t even have to toast or heat it. I will make again and again! DH couldn’t believe it was wheat bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ying

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
WOW! This was absolutely delicious. I baked it right in my bread machine. Just make sure the crust setting is on light. My family ate the whole loaf and wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mays Landing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
The first time I made this, it was good, but not anything special. The second time, I cooked it just until it was starting to brown, and THEN it was really really good--especially with honey butter. Also, I made this without a bread machine, and it's important to not too much flour in. The first time I kept on adding until it was kneadable, but the second time I just added enough to work with it, but it was still sticky, and kind of a pain to try and knead, but it sure turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This is my favorite bread recipe. I changed this to serve 18, I make two loaves and freeze one.I use three cups of wheat flour and 1&1/2 cups bread flour and 1 tblsp. of gluten. I use a panasonic bread machine, but bake in the oven. KY Big Blue Fan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States