Buttermilk Honey Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is an excellent light wheat bread, I did have to down size the recipe to fit my 1 lb loaf bread machine, but it worked well and the taste was excellent. My kids liked it and they usually only like white bread. Make sure you check the dough ball during kneading, I had to add about 1/3 of a cup extra of flour to get to correct texture. This will now be a Sunday regular menu items for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis in Colorado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This is excellent & easy to make. I use the most helpful tip (in reviews) to create & bake accordingly. The only thing I changed was I used 2 cups of bread flour and 1 cup of all purpose. I've also used both buttermilk and it's substitute (milk with apple cider vinegar added) and both have turned out delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I used my bread machine to make this bread overnight. Becaure of this I couldn't monitor the consistency of the dough. The loaf came out really high (overflowing the pan) and very light/airy. It does have a good flavor however so I am going to play around with it - less buttermilk maybe or more flour. The taste is good enough it's worth the experimenting. As written though I would only give it 2-3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I'm going to give this 4 stars even though my first attempt came out way too doughy. I did use lowfat plain Kefir in place of the buttermilk, but I don't think that's why it was so doughy. I used my bread machine to do the kneading and baked it in the oven. The flavor was fantastic. The next time I try this recipe (probably tomorrow becauase I HAVE to overcome failure) I will use less Kefir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arkadelphia, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I love this recipe. I put everything in the breadmaker, and it smells great when it's done. Good bread for toast in the mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
One of the best bread recipes. If you like a sweeter bread, use dark honey; if not use a lighter honey. I made 2 loaves and doubled everything except yeast, used 2 cups buttermilk and proofed the yeast in 1/2 cup warm water before adding the other ingrediants. I still added an extra cup white flour, but you could also add whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lanham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This bread is awesome! I can change it around and use more whole wheat flour and it is still wonderful. I let it raise in my bread machine and then take it out and shape it in a round loaf on my pizza paddle and cover with a cloth. After it is risen I slash the top. While it is raising I preheat my oven with a pizza stone and then after my stone is good and hot I slide it onto my stone to cook and it always turns out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I followed the recipe as far as the ingredients, but used the "manual" instructions listed by another reviewer, since I don't have a bread machine. This bread is wonderful!! I look forward to making this again, and hopefully will have a new mixer by that time, that will help with the dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States