Buttermilk Honey Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Nelson Tamayo
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Great recipe! I reduced the buttermilk to 1 cup and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelson Tamayo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Okay. I wasn't wild about the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Perfectly Yummy! Used 2 cups wheat and 1 1/2 white. also added 1 T gluten
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I love this recipe, comes out great each time, though you do have to add a little extra flour because the dough is too sticky. I have made it in loaves and as rolls, simply a great everyday bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Xenia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This is THE BEST bread I have EVER made! Super tender and a great balance of flavors too, with the regular flour, whole wheat flour, and a tad bit of honey. Follow the recipe as written and it's great, but there is also so much you can do with it. I shaped mine into a loaf, and after rising I slashed it three times accross. Also, I brushed it with some milk to keep a soft crust, and it was great for sandwiches. You could also use water and get a similar result. Immediently after baking, I brushed with melted butter (margarine actually) and it kept it soft, yet really shiny. It looked like plastic bread, but I was amazed at how soft it was when I poked around at it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by palmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Wonderful bread recipe. I bake for the public and this is the recipe I use perfect every time! I of course multiply the recipe and never have had trouble with it. I am an old fashioned type baker.. no bread machines here. Is easy to work with by hand the old fashioned way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KingsHorses
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
The best wheat bread I have had! Very very tender. I added 1 tbsp of honey and 2 tbsp bread flour. Even my husband liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingsHorses

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gahanna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I've made this bread many times now. It's easy and tastes good. Always rises to the top of the bread pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
AMAZING bread! I have to admit I used a few hints from one of the other reviews, it turned out light and airy and full of flavor. This may now be my bread of choice! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thompson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Why does this recipe have baking soda? I have never seen a yeast bread recipe with baking soda... so I completely omitted it. The bread came out wonderful. I did end up adding about 1/4 cup flour to the recipe to get the dough to the consistancy that I'm used to. I then just put it in my bread machine on the regular white setting, and the bread came out really well. I made 2 loaves in my 2 bread machines. I ran out of honey, so I used some Agave sweetener in place of the honey in one of the loaves. The bread came out just as good with the Agave as with the honey. I guess my suggestion is to add some flour and omit the unneeded baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States