Buttermilk Honey Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Excellent! Thank you for sharing! I used half whie and hald whole wheat flour and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
really like this recipe. have made several times-- works well every time. :) I do NOT use a bread machine, though... instead I only use 1 c milk, and use the other 1/2 cup liquid as water-- to mix with the yeast at the very beginning (put the vinegar and milk together in a separate bowl). I also use 2 c. all-purpose flour, and 1/2 c. whole wheat flour and 1/2 c. Ultragrain flour. too much wheat flour gives breads an almost bitter taste, in my opinion. Wonderful base recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Really good. I have a breadman and i followed the directions. Used bread flour and powered buttermilk and the bread came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
An addendum to my previous five (5) star rating of this recipe. I forgot to mention that I cut the amount of yeast from 2-1/2 teaspoons to one (1). Big improvement! When I used two (2) teaspoons (never used the 2-1/2), the loaf kind of looked like a popover in the pan! In addition to the yeast and flour adjustments (1-1/2 cups all-purpose, 3/4 cup whole wheat, 3/4 cup spelt), I also changed the oil from vegetable to extra light-tasting olive oil, which is the ONLY baking/cooking oil I use anymore. LTB!! (LOVE THIS BREAD!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Thankfully I used the dough cycle on my machine, otherwise the ingredients would've have been wasted. I kneaded in at LEAST an extra cup of whole wheat flour after I saw that the dough was soupy. Tasted great though - after I improvised for the recipe's mistakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Excellent flavor and texture. The top of my loaf sunk, so it didn't look too pretty. Will try to figure out what went wrong and try again because the bread was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I'm not an expert bread maker, but have made plenty and this is the first I've had problems with. First there is too much buttermilk or too little flour. You'll have to add about an extra cup just to make a dough consistency, otherwise it's more like a muffin batter. Second, it did not rise very well the second time. Third, After baking for the full time and cooling on the rack it looked beautiful, but them the dome collapsed overnight. The bread had more of a soggy muffin type texture. Very strange. I think it need more whole wheat flour for the gluten. Maybe someone could do 1/2 wheat and half all purpose to give it the spring it needs. As for me I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I used all whole wheat flour. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Great bread ! Recipe can be used with honey or molasses and still turn out wonderful; Beware though I find this recipe requires 3/4 to 1 cup more flour than the original recipe suggests. A good stand by bread in our house. Best warm, with a cold glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doodlemonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Great bread recipe...BUT, I use in our bread maker machine and using the amounts exactly as stated in the recipe...the bread rises up and out over the top and up to the canopy over the breadmaker!...I use one package of yeast (which is 1/4 tsp less than the recipe calls for)...I question the 1/2 tsp of baking soda ingredient, since it rises so much anyway. By the way, this recipe also appears on other websites with the same ingredients, must be popular, huh?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States