Buttermilk Honey Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
The only ingredient change that I made was to use 1/2 cup of water and reduce the buttermilk to 1 cup, just so I could proof the yeast. I made this by hand, so I proofed the yeast in 1/2 cup of warm water w/ 1 T. of sugar. I didn't really have trouble with the dough being too wet to handle, however, when it came out of the oven, it was slightly doughy in the center =( I'm willing to give this one another try because it tasted great without being too sweet, but I will make 2 loaves instead of one--hopefully they'll cook all the way through! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dani
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Probably the best bread recipe I've tried so far (though I haven't tried that many). It was very good, especially when it was warm. I brushed some melted butter and honey over the tops of the loaves (I made a bunch of tiny ones instead of one big one). I also don't have a bread machine so I just kneaded it by hand, plopped the loaves onto a greased cookie sheet, and baked them at 350 for about 25 minutes. I made the mini-loaves as gifts for my friends but I'll definitely have to make some more for myself and my family very soon! This bread is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I made eight large breadsticks out of this and they turned out perfectly. I'm picky about my wheat bread as I grew up on grocery store white, but this was wonderful. I could easily eat this everyday. Oh, and I had to "make" buttermilk by adding 1 1/2 T vinegar to the milk, but everything else was to the letter. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This bread is delicious! I added another 3/4 cup or so of flour (both wheat and white) because the dough was sticky. I didn't use a bread machine, and just combined all ingredients and kneaded in a stand mixer for about 10 minutes. I let it rise for a little more than 1 hour, then baked for 25 mins. It came out so moist, soft and sweet. Just be sure to add a little extra flour. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very good recipe! Made 1 change. I used 2 cups wheat flour, 1 cup white flour! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darrol J. Unruh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhler, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
It was an okay bread. Nothing special. It is not worth five stars. A tip for others, follow the recipes EXACTLY! DO NOT ADD MORE FLOUR! I tried to do this, and ended up doubling the recipe because adding more flour made the dough too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Really good bread. My daughter had it with a little butter for afternoon snack. I would say next time I will cook on the light crust setting it was a little to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Pretty tasty. My first attempt at making bread and it came out really nice. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ultraviolette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I am making this recipe for the first time, chiefly because I had some buttermilk that needed to be used up. I am an experienced baker from scratch, and I intended to bake it in the oven in a loaf pan. I am used to "tweaking" recipes, but I didn't add more flour to the mixture, even though it seemed very soupy. It has been sitting for the first rising for about 1 hour and 20 min. and it is rising a little, but I don't see how I can form it into a loaf. I have a bread machine, but I doubt very much if the results would be any different. I looked back to see if somebody had found out the original author had submitted the wrong amount of flour. I used good bread flour, not all-purpose, and good WW flour. I make two loaves of wheat sandwich every week (good for toast) and that uses 3 C. of WW flour and 3 1/3 C. of bread flour. This makes one loaf- shouldn't this call for about half that amount of flour in one loaf? I hate to think I wasted the ingredients, let alone the labor. I mixed it up in my Kitchen Aid too, as one of the other reviewers did. What is wrong here? If it doesn't do better in another half hour, I'll probably try a different recipe. You have a great site- but this recipe so far is a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Nice bread but nothing special. I wouldn't go out of my way to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States