Buttermilk Honey Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I followed the suggestions by Pat V almost to a T except added 3 heaping Tbsps. of ground flax seed and only used 2 Tbsp. of honey. I was extremely skeptical at how sticky the dough was, but it turned out great! Don't be tempted to add any more than an extra 1/3 C. flour!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I love this bread! I baked mine on the "normal 1 1/2 pound" setting on my machine. Used bread flour in place of all purpose and added about 1/4 cup more flour than the recipe called for. My only complaint is that the top of the loaf 'collapsed' on itself. I make bread in my bread machine about once a week and always have a nice round crown on top, but not with this recipe. Still though it tastest great, crunchy crust and chewy, dense interior makes for some good eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
End product was good but I was pretty worried during the process. I used bread flour instead of AP, and I needed to add about another cup and it was still Sticky, almost like a batter. The flavor was good so I let it rise for almost 2 hours before baking. It never rose how I hoped, but the taste/texture were Great. I'm wondering if my buttermilk was too cold? I used my kitchen aid for the mixing. Sliced it and served it with the ginger glazed mahi and greens as a sammich. DH loved it. UPDATE: Made in bread maker like directions said, just added a TBSP of wheat gluten. Perfection! Sometimes I should just follow the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Great little loaf!! I did not use a bread machine, just a kitchen aid. I let it rise for 1 hour then shaped it. Let it rise again 30 min. and baked 30 minutes at 350. So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Pretty looking, no. Really, really tasty? Heck yeah! I made this from beginning to end with my Kitchen Aid mixer. I warmed the buttermilk just enough with the honey mixed in so I could proof the yeast. After I got everything mixed in, this DID need more flour to get it to jump on the hook. I didn't measure exact, but I would say it was almost a cup. This dough was SUPER sticky so I took care to grease my bowl real well before setting it to rise on my stove, covered. This took some time to double, then double again after I formed it into a loaf. This was exact on baking time and temp. I swear, this is one of the best breads I've ever made. No leftovers! And I have to say that it has THE best crust I've ever tasted on homemade bread. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Very light for a wheat bread. Normally my wheat breads come out very dense. So this was a very pleasant change. I did make some changes. I sifted the flours together so that it wouldn't have that slightly gritty/grainy texture. I used 1 tbl of melted butter and 1/2 tbl of vegetable oil. And I added 1 tbl of gluten. I'll definitely be trying this one again when I have leftover buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Very good. Chewy texture. I did have to add about 1/4 cup more flower as it was too sticky to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
the family was all over this when it came out of the oven. It was a little crumbly for sandwhich bread, but a good snack or dinner bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Wonderful exactly as written. I used the whole wheat setting on the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Noty
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Great recipe! I reduced the buttermilk to 1 cup and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States