Buttermilk Honey Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Added 1/4 cup of wheat bran. Sprinkled the top with a little sea salt and brushed it with butter about 10 minutes before I took it out of the oven. Absolute perfection-the whole family loved it. The crust is not overly thick which is a big hit with my 6 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Don't be intimidated by all of the changes made by other cooks!!! I made this today, followed the recipe exactly, and it came out perfectly!!! Crusty on the outside, light and airy on the indside, delicious taste , and wonderful texture. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Yes, this is a very sticky dough. Make sure to lightly grease whatever pan you bake it in. I don't have a bread machine, so my KA came to the rescue. I was tempted to add more flour than what the recipe called for, but I didn't, and I'm glad I relied on my instinct. The bread was soft, moist, and slightly sweet. Just PHENOMENAL!!! (Did I spell that right?!?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This is a great recipe. I use it 2-3 times a week for kids' lunch sandwiches. I don't use a bread machine, just my Kitchen Aid mixer. I also use a buttermilk sub, 1 tbs lemon juice + milk to make 1 cup for each cup of buttermilk. I also reduce flour by 1/2 cup otherwise comes out just a bit too dry. I love the taste; other "honey" bread recipes still don't have that taste and are flat, but not this one. I should mention that I double the recipe to make two loaves; we never go through bread that fast with store-bought! :) And my kids don't waste sandwiches now...thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Pretty good but not as moist as I'd like it to be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clairdeliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
i am new to bread baking but i am a very good baker so i decided to give this bread a go. i am very plesantly surprised. this bread is very light and tender and moist. i made the dough in my kitchenaid mixer and everything turned out perfect. the only thing i had to do was add about 1/2 cup flour because the dough was very wet. with that extra flour i still produced a very moist bread. it is perfect for toasting. as soon as it came out the oven my kids ate it with peanut butter and bananas on it. great way to incorporate whole grains into your kids diet.thanks for the easy no fail recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I didn't have any problems yielding a fluffy bread. I used bread flour and nonfat buttermilk. I used my breadmaker, but I proofed the yeast in the buttermilk for 15 minutes while I prepped the other ingredients. The little bit of honey offsets any tartness from the buttermilk but this is not a sweet bread. My friends flipped for this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Total newbie at this, so I follow recipes exactly. Had a problem with the top collapsing (too much yeast? should have used bread flour?), though taste/texture was great. Texture almost like a crumpet - quite chewy. I find all the advice, however good, to be confusing - so many options! Next time I'll go with one of the variations, if I find a few people agree with the changes. BTW - I used a machine, and just let it do its thing. Fun to learn, though, my previous cooking experience limited to PB&J sandwiches!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Looked great, texture was nice, had an odd aftertaste that none of the family enjoyed. Won't be trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
very easy to make. I felt the dough need some more flour and instead white flour i used around 3 tbsp oats. brushed the top with oil and used some sesame, sunflower, and flax seeds on top. used only 1 tbs honey and added more salt. the bread came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States