Buttermilk Honey Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
The perfect bread for morning toast or sandwiches! I make this bread twice a week. Everyone in the family loves it. The only changes I've made is I bake it on the rapid cycle in my machine which takes 2 hours instead of 4. I also add and add'l 3/4 tsp of yeast and 40 mL of buttermilk per the manufacturer's instructions. I set my crust to "dark" setting and size to XL. OMG! Baking it faster actually resulted in a more even loaf. It rises perfectly everytime now as opposed to before when it was hit or miss. And the crust it perfectly crispy even on the dark setting. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Aberdeen, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
YUMMY! I don't have a bread machine... I just mixed the dry and added the wet and used my kitchen aid mixer. I was in a hurry so I microwaved the buttermilk to 120 degrees. I used oat flour instead of whole wheat...I did have to add almost a cup of extra white flour but it was raining out so my air was extra moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Daus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pompey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This bread is delicious ... but, based on the original recipe I can only justify 4 stars. The main reason is the amount of buttermilk to flour, and after reading several reviews, I decided to decrease from 1 1/2 cups to 1 cup of buttermilk. This worked out perfectly!! A nice even textured crumb with a slight taste of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Delicious...does need more flour; I add 1/2 C more of wh. wheat. I also add 1 TBLS of vital wheat gluten. I have made it totally in the machine which was good. My preference is to use the dough cycle, put it in my bread pan, let it rise and then bake it in the oven for 25-30min. at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Excellent bread. We changed it to use equal parts while wheat flour and bread flour plus added 1/4 cup of potato flakes and it was a really fantastic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chazbo
Home Town: White Plains, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
great bread. For those that don't have liquid buttermilk on hand, they now carry it in a dry form in canisters...usually found around the baking mixes. Just mix it up with some water, and violla...buttermilk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elissa Workman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Awesome bread. I did proof the yeast with 1 tbs. Of sugar and 1/2 cup of warm water. Let it sat for 15 min. Then added the baking soda as another reviewer reported. I then added the honey, oil, and 1 cup only of the butter milk. I added the liquid ingredients into the bread machine first, then added the mixed bread flour,wholewheatflour and salt on top of the liquid ingredients. I used the dough cycle and then placed dough in bread pan. After rising. Then baked. Really really good bread. You can not purchase such a delicious bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This reciped tasted just fine for my husband and myself. Thank you/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I LOVE this bread! This is the first bread machine bread that allows me to cut it thin enough for sandwiches. I have been looking for a bread machine bread like this for years. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi Harris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clancy, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States