Buttermilk Honey Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Great bread recipe...BUT, I use in our bread maker machine and using the amounts exactly as stated in the recipe...the bread rises up and out over the top and up to the canopy over the breadmaker!...I use one package of yeast (which is 1/4 tsp less than the recipe calls for)...I question the 1/2 tsp of baking soda ingredient, since it rises so much anyway. By the way, this recipe also appears on other websites with the same ingredients, must be popular, huh?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Great recipe, came out perfect, kids couldn't wait long enough for it to cool off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
So moist and wonderful! Would be 5 stars with a little more explanation on adding flour to the correct consistency. Keep in mind that with any bread recipe you have to add flour to correct bread dough consistency...that day it took probably about 3/4 cup more. The only ingredient I changed was using bread flour in place of all purpose. I mixed it in my Kitchenaid and did the last rise in my bread pan in the fridge overnight so I could bake it in the morning. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Nice taste and texture, but really hard to work with if you aren't using a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Sonnenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I wouldn't recommend this recipe to anyone but an experienced bread baker. After reading the reviews and seeing so many comment on the ratio of liquid to dry ingredients being off, I decided to make this with my Kitchenaid mixer so that I could control this. I ended up adding at least an additional 1/2 cup of flour till the dough seemed a good consistency. It appeared all was well until after the 2nd rise when just before placing it in the oven, the dough collapsed. I reshaped it and let it rise a 3rd time and it baked up fine. There are so many other recipes out there the yield a better result that I wouldn't go with this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
A great recipe. Loved the flavor of this bread. Had a terrible time with the dough though. The bread was so sticky and it was like liquid than solid. Even after the first proof it was so moist instead of forming it into a loaf, I had to actually pour it into the pan. It resulted in a very moist loaf though with a consistency more like an english muffin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Loved this bread! However I did not use all purpose flour, I used bread flour and it came out much more fluffy-ier, and had better taste. (Better compared to when I used the all purpose flour.) I also used Safflower oil instead of vegetable oil. Very delish! I make this bread once a week now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Made this by hand, and doubled it for 2 loaves. It was definitely a good thing I did, since this bread is delicious, and was eaten quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
The perfect bread for morning toast or sandwiches! I make this bread twice a week. Everyone in the family loves it. The only changes I've made is I bake it on the rapid cycle in my machine which takes 2 hours instead of 4. I also add and add'l 3/4 tsp of yeast and 40 mL of buttermilk per the manufacturer's instructions. I set my crust to "dark" setting and size to XL. OMG! Baking it faster actually resulted in a more even loaf. It rises perfectly everytime now as opposed to before when it was hit or miss. And the crust it perfectly crispy even on the dark setting. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Aberdeen, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States