Buttermilk Honey Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I'd love to give this bread five stars, but I've tried it three times and each time it comes out with a cratered top. I'm sure that is due to my lack of breadmaking experience; this recipe may not be written with the novice in mind. Even though the loaves looked like a half-pipe, we ate them, and I liked the results enough to keep trying. The texture and flavor were wonderful, and the bread sliced easily. I will try the recipe a fourth time, decreasing the amount of buttermilk from 1 C by 2 T (I'm proofing the yeast in 1/2 C of water, so I decreased the buttermilk to begin with). If this fixes the problem, I'll re-submit my review with detailed instructions, since I'm not the only person who has had trouble with the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I used all of PATVIVANCO's changes.It came out Perfect! I have also added garlic and cheddar to this for an awesome change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I have never baked a loaf of bread in my life before this one. I read the reviews and added some extra flour so it would not be sticky. It turned out almost perfect and tastes great. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I made this bread in my bread machine following the directions from my machine, and it turned out great! I used low fat buttermilk and butter instead of oil, and white bread flour instead of the all purpose. I used the light crust option, and it still got a little dark. Other than that, fairly dense crumb, hearty texture, and I was able to slice it nice and thin. I will definately be making this again. I will try to go to half wheat flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This is one of the best bread recipes I have tried. I added extra flour and got a very big loaf. I baked it in my bread maker the first time, but am now trying it in the oven. It did fall slightly, but was still a very tall loaf. It was light and sliced well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
My husband and I loved this recipe! This is the first time I make it and decided to read all reviews to decide what adjustments I would make. It was a good idea, because my bread came out perfectly—rounded dome, thin crunchy browned crust and a wonderfully soft firm textured bread that was easy to slice (even very thin). I mixed it up in my much loved Kitchen Aid mixer and baked it at 350 for 45min. Here are the adjustments I made: Proofed 1 pkg. active yeast in ½ cup warm water mixed with 1 tbl sugar. Reduced buttermilk to 1 cup (actually, 1 tbl. Apple cider vinegar + milk to make 1 cup) let sit for at least 15 min. then added the baking soda. Mixed flours with salt and took out 1 cup Added buttermilk substitute and yeast mixture to dry ingredients in mixer and added the reserved 1 cup flour slowly. Mixture was very sticky, so I added ½ cup white flour and even though it was still a bit sticky, left it like that. Put dough in oiled bowl. Turned on oven for 1 min—turned off and put bowl covered loosely with plastic wrap in for 1 hr. Punched down and rolled into rectangle and rolled up tightly into log. Placed into greased bread pan and let rise in oven again for 1hr.; baked for 45min. Perfection!! Don’t be tempted to add more flour—will produce crumbly or dry bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
This is the best of the four wheat bread recipes I've tried. The buttermilk keeps the bread moist with a wonderful texture and the honey adds a touch of sweetness. I followed the recipe exactly and made it in my machine on the wheat cycle. This added another hour to the total bake time for a total of approximately 4 hrs. - 4 hrs. 15 mins. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
The amount of flour is way off in this recipe and I had to add so much more that I ended up with two 1lb loaves. But it tastes so good that I don't mind having the extra loaf at all. The buttermilk really brings out the sweetness of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
Flavor was great! I have made this recipe several times now and I always have to add more flour in or it is way too sticky. I also usually get two small loaves out of it. Only one time did it come out perfectly domed, it seems to just fall ever so slightly but it does not seem to affect the taste or texture. I have also added in cracked wheat, and a 5 grain cereal to it for fun and it's been tasty! Mine does seem to be a bit crumbly, not good for sandwhiches or slicing thin but eaten fresh, thick sliced, with butter and jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
Delish! Used all wheat flour and mixed with my Kitchenaid mixer. I put 1/8 cup warm water with the yeast to proof first. I ended up having to use more flour, but it came out wonderfully. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States