Buttermilk Honey Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Y-U-M-M-Y! This recipe came out just perfect. I mixed the bread in the machine..Turned it out and kneaded about 5 times, let it rise 40 mins(till double in size) and cooked 25 mins like the recipe stated and ohhhhhh was this good! We ate our chicken salad on it for lunch. No more store bought bread....Thanks for a sharing a great recipe :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This is the best whole wheat bread I have ever made. I baked it in my Bread deMies pan, the one with the lid with holes, and it came out crustless and with the texture and shape of store bought bread, ready for sandwiches. The only variation is that I added 1 Tablespoon of Gluten, to make it really spongy and fluffy. Awesome bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
We paid no attention to the reviews and just followed the recipe (but only because we didn't have time for some reason to read others' suggestions that night). I'm glad, too. We've made two loaves following the original directions and they've been fantastic. All we changed was to use bread machine yeast instead of active dry yeast. Used real buttermilk. Used whole wheat flour and all purpose flour. May have technically used more than called for--we don't have measuring cups (at the moment) and so just used the tea cups for approximation. Also, Roger insists that the yeast has to go first, and in the west "corner" of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
In the end this is a great loaf of bread. After reading many other reviews, I decided to make a freeform/rustic loaf using the oven in an attempt to avoid the "cave in". This is a VERY sticky dough and is difficult to work with. My first knead I used flour, but tried to add as little as I could get away with. The next punchdown I used oil and the dough was still sticky. I baked it on a stone in a preheated 400 degree oven for 30 minutes. When finished I had a very large loaf of soft moist bread. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Good taste, but it did collapse in the bread machine. However, I would make again; really only the top caved in, so there was a gigantic air bubble that didn't LOOK pretty, but the bread TASTED great. I used 2 tsp fast-rise yeast, which may have caused the problem. Either that or this needs about 1/2 cup more flour than called for. Worth trying, give it a go! Oh, and to make fake buttermilk (which I used): Add 1 tbsp lemon juice or vinegar per 1 cup milk and let stand 10 minutes at room temperature. And if your bread machine requires sizes as mine does, this makes a 1-1/2 lb loaf. Used the 'sweet' setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Very good bread. Really nice crumb and crust. i can't wait to make toast with it in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Very stickt dough...even with 1/2 cup flour addad. Taste was OK, but not a beautiful presentation. As with others, the top fell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Stafford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
Very good. I made the dough in my bread machine and baked in the oven. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kestrel
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Wonderful, delicious recipe! I didn't use a bread machine and proofed the yeast in 1/2 cup water + 1 tbl sugar. I also added 1 tsp sugar to the dry ingredients. The bread came out light, fluffy and fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
Excellent a keeper for sure..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lumberton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States