Buttermilk Honey Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Best wheat bread recipe I've had yet... Used a bread machine...altered it to 1 c buttermilk the second time I made it and didn't have to add extra flour because the dough was it was too sticky. Came out perfect the second time! I selected 1 1/2 lb on my bread machine. I do wish the recipe stated the size loaf this should make...it would help the newcomers to the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
First let me just say I have baked a lot of breads but for some reason I couldn't find a good wheat bread until now thanks so much for this recipe my bread is so soft and taste so so good I put some home made honey butter on my bread as soon as I took it out of the oven and talk about good and also I am so glade that I took a look at some of the other reviews because that also help me a lot thanks to you Pat V your were a big help to me. Can I also let some of you know it is so easy to make your own butter,butter milk by use heavy cream and your mixer if you get some heavy cream and put it in your mixer and let it do all the work your butter will be at the bottom of the mixer,your butter milk will be on top just put your butter milk in 1 jar and them put your butter in a blow with a top and your ready to go and the taste is so good. Give it a try I think you will love it. they have some butter recipe on this site that are real good. THANKS SO MUCH TERRY I WILL POST A PIC. OF MY BREAD PS. I DID ADD 2 TABLESPOONS MORE OF HONEY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
this is a terrific loaf. very tender. I used my bread machine to knead and added wheat gluten to it. I found the dough sticky but I just added more whole wheat flour . I am new to making bread and this was my second recipe I tried. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I'm just beginning to use my breadmaker and put this in just before church. I was a little concerned I would come home to a burnt mound but it came out beautifully. Everyone loved it! The buttermilk/honey/wheat combination was delicious! I will put this on my list of regulars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolina Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Easy Bread and great flavor. I used exact recipe and cooked right in the bread machine. Looking forward to a tuna sandwich now, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This is excellent as is, but when I've made alterations it's wonderful too. I make it in the bread machine, just reversing the order of ingredients from wet to dry and use the large loaf setting. Very moist and delicious. My family is spoiled now and only wants this recipe - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This recipe kind of puzzled me. I was expecting something fantastic based on the reviews, but I was a bit disappointed. I didn't have buttermilk on hand, so I used milk and lemon juice (adding 1 tbs of lemon juice to a cup of milk can be used as buttermilk substitution). The bread fell in the middle, yet ran over the sides of the container and burned. Once the bread was done and I cut away the burned part (why waste good bread?), it tasted ok. But I couldn't taste the honey, and I had hoped it would have a touch of sweetness to it. It just seemed like regular wheat bread. It tasted fine, but seemed like a lot of extra ingredients for no result of extra flavor. I would say I'll play around a bit with the honey and buttermilk, but because it fell in the middle I'm not really interested in trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smllover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I must have done something wrong, because it was a soupy mess in my bread maker. I just did the dough part, with plans to put it in the bread pans and bake it in the oven (I don't like bread machine bread). But when I went to get it out of the bread machine, I literally had to pour it out. Very sticky. At the same time, I made the same recipe in a bowl by hand. That one turned out okay, so I'm not really sure why the one in the bread machine was so soupy. Maybe it just has to be made completely in the bread machine to do well. I let it rise for over an hour in the pans and it didn't do real well there either, but maybe that's because I used cold buttermilk instead of at "room temp". I've made easier recipes that turn out just as well, so I don't think I'll make this one again. It sounds like everyone else loves it, though, so it could have just been that I made a mistake somewhere along the line.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This bread was very tasty and the texture was perfect. It didn't last in our household...I made it twice in a row. So delicious. Today I substituted 1 cup of oats for 1 cup of the all purpose flour and this bread still turned out perfectly soft and tasty. This is my favourite bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
This bread is awesome! My husband says it's the best bread I've made so far. It has a nice taste, and is slightly moist but still holds up to being sliced. I will make this again and again. I did the whole thing in the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States