Buttermilk Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I won't be making this again. I made two separate batches and followed the recipe exactly both times but both times the dough barely rose so the loaves were really dense. There was nothing impressive about the flavor, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
A very good basic bread recipe, esp. one to make by traditional methods (I despise breadmakers!) Even with a few adjustments to account for my lack of actual buttermilk (combined 1 Tbs. lemon juice with milk and let sit for 5 minutes before using), it came out with a sweet and tangy flavor. The only advice I would give to others is to adjust the rising times based on how your actual dough is doing. Mine took a little longer than suggested, most likely due to a less than warm kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Wow! Great bread! I followed the recipe, but in the middle of it realized I only had 2.5 cups of flour, so I had to use whole wheat to make up the difference. I ended up adding only 3.5 cups ww flour, and a bit more water. The dough rose beautifully and baked perfectly. It was supposed to be for dinner, but the aroma got the best of me, and I had to have a slice early! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I made a small bread for dinner using a quarter of each of the ingredients, and it was very yummy! I especially LOVED the crust on this, crunchy, while not being to hard. I personally thought the flavour of honey maybe could have been a little more profound (next time ill try using a stronger flavoured honey), but it was mildly sweet without being overly sweet. It is a bit of a dense bread and at first I was afraid it wouldn't rise since it seemed to stay the same ammount even after sitting in a warm spot for an hour. one thing I would recommend though is to oil the bowl the bread is rising in just LIGHTLY, i think that may have something to do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariane

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This recipe has never failed me. It has come out perfect every time and everyone always wants the recipe. Sure it's fattening and it may take three hours, but it is SO worth it. It's great with homemade honey butter. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
making bread is just trail and error, sometimes it takes time before you get it just right. great bread recipe, very creative. delish....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Elkhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
The only change I made was just a tad less flour and using two full packages of yeast instead of 1 and a half. I had no trouble with having it rise -- in fact, it was super puffy! Have not yet tasted it yet, but it sure smells great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I thought this was a delicious tasting bread but a little dense, as it didn't rise a great deal. I only added 1 teaspoon salt because I used salted butter, and I used between 1/4-1/2 cup less flour. I might use a bit more yeast next time. Will definitely make great toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
My first attempt at making bread and it was wonderful! I will definitely keep this one in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
One word: Wow! Anyone looking for a good bread recipe should try this one. Thanks Kathleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States