Buttermilk Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This was a great recipe! It was easy to make and tastes great. My family loved it. The next time I make it I might add just a bit more honey. I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This recipe is awesome no matter what you put on it! It reminds me of bread my mom used to make on the hot days of summer in Georgia. Not too sweet, has a nice tangy flavor from the buttermilk and is just plain fabulous in my families book. Thank you for just a wonderful recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Super recipe! Made it twice already. Served it warm with honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZMUM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This was a good recipe, good flavor. However, I don't know that much about bread baking, there was no way I was going to get all 6 cups of flour into the dough. I only squeezed in 4 1/2. Still turned out fine after my many mistakes and is good. I don't think I found it as anything special myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Great recipe. However, you will need to adjust slightly for altitude if you're at a higher altitude. I'm in Denver, and I had to add just under a 1/4 cup buttermilk (I make a half recipe, add just under 1/2 cup buttermilk for the full recipe). Otherwise it seems a bit dry, and you may have trouble getting the dough to form together, but that's not unusual with high-altitude baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I really like this bread a lot. I make it with my kitchen aid mixer with the dough hook so I don't have to kneed it at all. It takes a lot longer for it to rise than it says but with patience it will get there. Can this be corrected with more yeast or less flour? I am new at yeast breads. In my oven it takes exactly 35 min. to bake. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by char

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This is a *perfect* sandwich bread ... I substituted 1 cup of whole wheat flour for the regular, but, other than that, followed to the letter ... it is just wonderful ... dense enough to slice, but not hard or too dry/course or anything like that ... my SO and I are trying to get off of store-bought sandwich bread, so we've been experimenting for a few weeks, to find a winner or two, and this is one of them ... oh, btw, I used my bread machine to mix the dough, but I baked the loaf (I cut the recipe in half, to get only one loaf) in the oven ... looked just like the photo! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This was very good--moist and flavorful. I used half white whole wheat flour and exchanged half of the butter with oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Nice texture. Not sure if I really like the "tang" of the buttermilk (aka 1.5C milk w/1.5T of vinegar). Used 2 packets of yeast (I don't want a half packet sitting around).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Very tender, excellent crumb! Didn't change a thing, was a big hit at potluck and home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States