Buttermilk-Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I'm not sure what it took to make this bread, but, oh my, it was GOOD! I got home from work today to find this delicious bread on the counter, and I thought to myself: "this is the best bread I've ever had". So, I recommend it! -Husband Note from "wife": I had to add more flour, but it didn't seem to matter. This bread is GOOD! I used a .4 oz pack of ranch dressing because that is what I had on hand. Also, something is wrong with the cooking time. After 20 min at 350, I realized that the bread was still very raw and hiked up the temp to 375 for 20 more min. So, I recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This bread is dangerously good. My roommate and I ate 1 1/2 loaves within 30 minutes after pulling it out of the oven. It has a beautiful golden crust, and the inside is like velvet. It is delicious with, or without butter, with cheddar cheese melted on top. I did wind up leaving it in the oven for 30 minutes instead of the prescribed 20, but I didn't need to raise the temperature at all. Ovens vary! Thank you so much for this recipe. I will use it until I become obese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This was a GREAT bread! I didn't have any ranch dressing on hand so I used "Good Seasons Zesty Italian" powdered dressing and it was wonderful. It got a slight garlicy flavor that will enchance any bland lunch meat and cheese sandwich. It is a nice, soft bread that holds up for use in sandwiches. Very nice flavor. I will try to make it with ranch dressing and with no dressing, to see if there is any change. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I followed the directions exactly, adding some garlic. This is absolutly delicious bread, easy to make. We will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michigan Mommy
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I really wanted to try this recipe out in my 2 lb bread machine on the dough cycle and it worked perfectly! The only change I made was to use 3 tsp of bread machine yeast and to take it out about 30 minutes before the dough cycle completed. Measurements for all the other ingredients stayed the same. I was watching it so it wouldn't over flow while rising and taking it out 30 minutes early is just right. I shaped it into one braid and one regular loaf and put them into two 9 1/2 by 5 1/2 loaf pans, let them rise 60 minutes, then baked at 350 for 30 minutes. Delicious flavor, great texture, perfect warm with some butter, also great grilled cheese and sandwich bread. Love the ranch flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is a really great bread. I have to admit that we left out the ranch dressing, but the recipe itself was delicious. Moist and delicious inside, bit crusty outside. And it froze beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Just made a loaf of this bread and am eating it fresh out of the oven! I made this recipe as an attempt at a simple buttermilk loaf, leaving out the dressing mix. I had to add a LOT more flour than called for to get the dough where I could even handle it enough to knead, so I was worried it would come out too dense, but it gave a nice, light, fluffy loaf with a good texture. Nothing fancy but good for a simple loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Great easy recipe. I read this about a year ago and have made it many times since then. The family loves this bread and is always begging me to make it again. Sometimes I leave out the Ranch mix for a simple white bread. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cuban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Very flavorful bread. The name throws me for a loop, bc I don't think of ranch seasoning when I think of herb breads. Other than the name, though, this is a very soft, flavorful bread that's good plain, with butter, or with cheese as a nice sandwich. I baked at 375 for 35 mins instead, as I've made tons of bread and that setting is tried and true for my oven. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Great bread! Great directions! Only thing I would change is the cooking time. 20 minutes isn't nearly enough. (I left it in for 35-40.) 2nd time I made this bread I subbed the ranch packet for herbs from my spice rack. The ranch packet made the bread a little too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States