Buttermilk-Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I'm not sure what it took to make this bread, but, oh my, it was GOOD! I got home from work today to find this delicious bread on the counter, and I thought to myself: "this is the best bread I've ever had". So, I recommend it! -Husband Note from "wife": I had to add more flour, but it didn't seem to matter. This bread is GOOD! I used a .4 oz pack of ranch dressing because that is what I had on hand. Also, something is wrong with the cooking time. After 20 min at 350, I realized that the bread was still very raw and hiked up the temp to 375 for 20 more min. So, I recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This bread is dangerously good. My roommate and I ate 1 1/2 loaves within 30 minutes after pulling it out of the oven. It has a beautiful golden crust, and the inside is like velvet. It is delicious with, or without butter, with cheddar cheese melted on top. I did wind up leaving it in the oven for 30 minutes instead of the prescribed 20, but I didn't need to raise the temperature at all. Ovens vary! Thank you so much for this recipe. I will use it until I become obese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
This is a nice soft bread. I must admit I had my reservations when I saw it called for a package of ranch dressing mix since I'm not particularly fond of ranch but was pleasantly surprised with the results. I didn't have buttermilk so I used 1 1/2 tsp of vinegar in regular milk. I missed eating a piece right out of the oven which I'm sure would've been super yummy but it made a GREAT sandwich the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
This was an easy bread to make, and it tasted good, but not as good as I was hoping for. Both my husband and I had a piece right out of the oven, and it was just sort of bland, but I am not sure what it is missing. He did toast a piece later on and liked it better toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This was a GREAT bread! I didn't have any ranch dressing on hand so I used "Good Seasons Zesty Italian" powdered dressing and it was wonderful. It got a slight garlicy flavor that will enchance any bland lunch meat and cheese sandwich. It is a nice, soft bread that holds up for use in sandwiches. Very nice flavor. I will try to make it with ranch dressing and with no dressing, to see if there is any change. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly - the bread was very dense and I didn't enjoy it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I followed the directions exactly, adding some garlic. This is absolutly delicious bread, easy to make. We will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michigan Mommy
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I really wanted to try this recipe out in my 2 lb bread machine on the dough cycle and it worked perfectly! The only change I made was to use 3 tsp of bread machine yeast and to take it out about 30 minutes before the dough cycle completed. Measurements for all the other ingredients stayed the same. I was watching it so it wouldn't over flow while rising and taking it out 30 minutes early is just right. I shaped it into one braid and one regular loaf and put them into two 9 1/2 by 5 1/2 loaf pans, let them rise 60 minutes, then baked at 350 for 30 minutes. Delicious flavor, great texture, perfect warm with some butter, also great grilled cheese and sandwich bread. Love the ranch flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
really good, adaptable to different herbs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Very yummy! I ran into some problems with the flour when making it, though -- 5 cups resulted in dough with the approximate consistency of cake batter, and it took almost two more cups to get it to a consistency I was comfortable with. I would also recommend cutting the amount of ranch dressing mix in half because I think that flavor is a bit overwhelming -- good, but a little strong. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States