Buttermilk Cornbread Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Used 1/3C honey to add a little more sweetness (based off of prev. reviews) as well as almost a full cup of buttermilk for additional moistness. I don't like using a muffin pan, so baked in a greased 'wedge' (8-section) cast iron cornbread skillet and poured the rest into a greased cake pan and baked at 375 for about 20 minutes. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
These did not turn out well at all. They were very bland and dry. My husband didn't care for them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I increased the buttermilk to 1 cup, and baked in a loaf pan to maintain moisture. Baking time increased to about 1 hour, which resulted in a lovely golden brown crust. Sweetness could have been increased slightly, but overall a great recipe I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I was disappointed. The muffins were reasonably moist, but not sweet at all. I hoped the honey and buttermilk would give them a richer, sweeter taste, but that didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Be sure to add 1 tsp of salt as it was a bit bland but otherwise very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I've never made Cornbread before and I did alter the recipe, but it was perfect with gumbo! Here's what I changed: I didn't have buttermilk, so I used milk. And I used Rye flour instead of all-purpose. I didn't have honey, either, so I used 1/4 cup evaporated cane juice. And I rarely use oiil, so I substituted 2 heaping tablespoons of applesauce for the oil. I baked them for 20 minutes, but I would check on them before the 20 minute mark next time. Overall, I think this is a good base recipe! Next time I'll try to add corn kernals and maybe some chiles of come sort to spice it up, along with more applesauce for more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I think they were good. Here in Texas we don't like sweet cornbread muffins. We might add a T. or two, but that is it. When unsweentened, they go good with any entree; whereas, sweet muffins do not. We like the cornbread flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
These muffins were dry and totally bland. I wouldn't even know where to begin altering the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Despite their billing, these muffins made according to this recipe are NOT moist nor are they sweet. I will not make this recipe again, there are far better versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very Good. The whole family loved them. I will definitely use this recipe regularly. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States