Buttermilk Cornbread Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
These did not turn out well at all. They were very bland and dry. My husband didn't care for them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I increased the buttermilk to 1 cup, and baked in a loaf pan to maintain moisture. Baking time increased to about 1 hour, which resulted in a lovely golden brown crust. Sweetness could have been increased slightly, but overall a great recipe I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I was disappointed. The muffins were reasonably moist, but not sweet at all. I hoped the honey and buttermilk would give them a richer, sweeter taste, but that didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Be sure to add 1 tsp of salt as it was a bit bland but otherwise very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I've never made Cornbread before and I did alter the recipe, but it was perfect with gumbo! Here's what I changed: I didn't have buttermilk, so I used milk. And I used Rye flour instead of all-purpose. I didn't have honey, either, so I used 1/4 cup evaporated cane juice. And I rarely use oiil, so I substituted 2 heaping tablespoons of applesauce for the oil. I baked them for 20 minutes, but I would check on them before the 20 minute mark next time. Overall, I think this is a good base recipe! Next time I'll try to add corn kernals and maybe some chiles of come sort to spice it up, along with more applesauce for more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I think they were good. Here in Texas we don't like sweet cornbread muffins. We might add a T. or two, but that is it. When unsweentened, they go good with any entree; whereas, sweet muffins do not. We like the cornbread flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
These muffins were dry and totally bland. I wouldn't even know where to begin altering the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Despite their billing, these muffins made according to this recipe are NOT moist nor are they sweet. I will not make this recipe again, there are far better versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very Good. The whole family loved them. I will definitely use this recipe regularly. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Nice texture, not too sweet or overly dry. There were equally good crumbled up in chili or broccoli-cheese soup, and eaten alone with a little honey. I'm not sure if this will become my standard cornbread recipe, but it's definitely a good one :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States