Buttermilk Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Very thick dough. I used brown sugar, and some cinnamon extract. Turned out very good. Tried to roll a few of them in Cocoa. Don't do it. Even though the dough was very sugary, it bakes with a subtle sugary taste to my surprise. Bakes very quickly, watch after five min., take out when they are a little brown. (turn quickly)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tesa Dazy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I really didn't like these cookies. A lot of them spread and most of them did not cook all the way through even though I gave them extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
The first time I made these I followed the recipe exactly and they were WAY too salty for me. However, I really liked the texture and the basic taste so I tried them again and I am so glad I did! I cut the salt down to just a dash - next time I'll probably omit it completely - and they were absolutely delicious. I sent plates over to a few neighbors and they all asked me for the recipe. The rest didn't last long at my house. We ate them plain without any frosting or glaze. They do have a somewhat plain flavor and they are very soft/cakelike, but that was fine for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
this is an amish cookie my grandmother made when we were kids, they are wonderful,my grandmother used lard and my dad loves them, this is the closest i have found to hers, if your cookies are spreading then just add more flour, use a scoop and gently pack the flour in and level it off with a butter knife the dough will stay fluffy and not spread,i added 2 tablespoons of sour cream to it and put walnuts on top with colored sugar just like grandmom and they bring my grandmom back home to us. i miss her but it is like she is here again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Adding semi-sweet chocolate chips and topped with sugar make all the difference with these cookies. Also, best if eaten the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Not too shabby. I thought it was weird that they were cake-y, but that's not so bad (like having miniature cakes). They go well with coffee, and I liked the simple flavor. Will probably make these again if I have leftover buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I grew up in alabama so I wasn't a stranger to buttermilk I didn't realize you can do wonders with it these cake cookies are good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulligent, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Super yummy! I sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar before I baked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI Q

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baker, Montana, USA
Photo by Denitomi
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I substituted 1/2 c. brown sugar for white, and these cookies baked up just as all the others reported. Frosted them with confectioners sugar frosting with lots of lemon to add zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denitomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
The cookies are okay at best. They are very cake like. They have little taste, but are very soft and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States