Buttermilk Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
this is an amish cookie my grandmother made when we were kids, they are wonderful,my grandmother used lard and my dad loves them, this is the closest i have found to hers, if your cookies are spreading then just add more flour, use a scoop and gently pack the flour in and level it off with a butter knife the dough will stay fluffy and not spread,i added 2 tablespoons of sour cream to it and put walnuts on top with colored sugar just like grandmom and they bring my grandmom back home to us. i miss her but it is like she is here again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Adding semi-sweet chocolate chips and topped with sugar make all the difference with these cookies. Also, best if eaten the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Not too shabby. I thought it was weird that they were cake-y, but that's not so bad (like having miniature cakes). They go well with coffee, and I liked the simple flavor. Will probably make these again if I have leftover buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I grew up in alabama so I wasn't a stranger to buttermilk I didn't realize you can do wonders with it these cake cookies are good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulligent, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Super yummy! I sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar before I baked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI Q

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baker, Montana, USA
Photo by Denitomi
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I substituted 1/2 c. brown sugar for white, and these cookies baked up just as all the others reported. Frosted them with confectioners sugar frosting with lots of lemon to add zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denitomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
The cookies are okay at best. They are very cake like. They have little taste, but are very soft and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Like many others, I had some leftover buttermilk to use up. I found this recipe and figured, why not? I read the reviews before making the batch and added some mini chocolate chips that I had on hand. I put the dough in the fridge for a couple hours before baking, even then they spread. The taste is just okay, nothing special. My "I love any kind of cookie" teenage daughter took one bite and wanted to toss the rest. I'll take them to work, where my co-workers will eat bread crumbs if they're put in the break room, but I won't make them again. I'm disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nebgoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
very good cookie and very easy. I did add a bit of flavor with 2 tbsp orange juice powder, 2 tsp lime juice powder and 1 tsp ginger. The citrus brightened up the cookie so you dont need to ice, or can just drizzle a few lines of glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
These tasted like my Grandmother Tea Cakes. I did adjust the recipe a little. I used 2 sticks of butter rather than the shortening and a teaspoon of almond extract along with the vanilla. I also added walnuts. I iced with white chocolate. My Husband and I thoroughly enjoyed these and we are going to share with friends. Thanks for bringing back the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hmgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barstow, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States