Buttermilk Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This is my husbands favorite coleslaw. When I submited I forgot I usually add 1 tablespoon lemon juice and 1 tablespoon hot sauce for extra zing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very good coleslaw - a perfect accompaniment to bbq dishes or fried chicken! I cut the recipe in half as this makes a lot. I changed the dressing up a bit though. I thought 1 cup of mayo was a bit much, so I used a mix of 1/4 cup of Hellman's lite mayo, 1/4 cup of lite Miracle whip, and 1/4 cup of reduced fat sour cream along with the buttermilk. I like a sweeter coleslaw of I upped the sugar to 1/4 cup. I also added 3/4 tsp. seasoned salt, 1/2 tsp. ground mustard, 1/4 tsp. celery salt vs. using celery seed plus the additional black pepper. I let this set in the fridge for a few hours and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Something to consider - to make buttermilk, you add a little bit of vinegar to regular milk. So you could use milk and vinegar in place of the buttermilk. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvBaja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
After tasting I felt there was something missing and then I realized that it was the vinegar. In addition to adding the tang of the vinegar I also felt it required more seasonings. Good start tho and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This is the best coleslaw recipe I have ever had, includes any I have been served at restaurants. I would not change a thing in this recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Something about this was just not right, the buttermilk flavour was too prevalent we ended up throwing most of it away, sorry it just wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sheppard
Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I added dried cranberries and used "Saco Cultured Buttermilk Blend for cooking and baking" to my milk. The dressing was very creamy and slightly sweet. My guest suggested adding an apple (like Fuji) and pecans that I will try next time. Very yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Nice, basic, and easy recipe. A mandolin or food processor works great as freshly shredded vegies are always better than bagged if you have the time. I added a few tablespoons of non fat sour cream that I had leftover in the fridge. If your buttermilk flavor is too strong, reduce the amount or try a different brand- some are less tangy than others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was pretty good. I do think that it may need just a pinch of salt in the dressing, though. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This may be my favorite coleslaw recipe ever and I have tried LOTS of different recipes. I did think that it needed a touch of salt. Next time I will try adding caraway seed as I also like that in coleslaw. Really good just as is, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States