Buttermilk Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I have never made coleslaw before but had an idea of the taste I was looking to achieve. This was absolutely perfect and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I cut this in half. I use 1/2 cup mayo, 1/4 cup miracle whip, 1/4 cup sour cream. I increase the sugar to 3 TBS. I use celery salt instead of celery seed, and most importantly I add vinegar to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshall, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I was so worried after reading reviews it would be soupy SO I made the sauce 1st in its own bowl and slowly added to my 24 oz bag of slaw..... It was perfect!!! I did as others suggested: used celery salt in lieu of seeds, added juice of 1 lemon and 2 caps of vinager! YUMO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
My family actually loved the end result, but I made significant enough changes can't really give it 5 stars. I eyeballed amounts but the big difference was I used natural yogurt instead of buttermilk (added a bit of milk to the yogurt just to thin it down a bit) and probably used equal amounts of mayo/yogurt. A bit less surgar, and a tablespoon or so of lemon juice. Celery salt instead of seed and green onions. Makes a lot o dressing but will keep. End result was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
WOW! This is now my go to coleslaw recipe! Amazing flavor! Added in the lemon juice but not the hot sauce and it is so good! The buttermilk is such a great idea and added the perfect amount of zing! So good! So happy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I just made this and although I know it will be better after sitting a bit, I am loving a big bowl now! I substituted splenda for the sugar, and used milk with vinegar for the buttermilk. I also shredded my veggies by hand, it tastes much fresher!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Hoffecker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Loved it! The hotsauce kicked it up which is a favorite in my house. I didn't have celery seed so instead I sliced up some celery and it worked out great! This recipie is quick and easy which is a must in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I used powdered buttermilk. I didn't have celery seed, so I used Dill seed that I briused in the mortar. I did add a hearty spoon of sea salt and a fine grated carrot to my own fresh cabbage. I used stevia in place of sugar. I added some white wine vinagar, too, in place of lemon juice. Will make this again,the clan here loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This was DELICIOUS! I left out the celery seed as I don't use it in anything. Everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Just made this coleslaw recipe to go along with fried catfish. Delicious! I like the idea of adding a little hot sauce for some "zing" to the coleslaw and next time I will but it was excellent as is. I cut the recipe in half for the 3 of us and there was plenty of dressing left over to make more tomorrow. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States